Backyard Buddies: Australian King Parrot

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Backyard Buddies: Australian King Parrot


Bird Watching & Decluttering


DSC_0203_steem.jpg

Sorry that it's not the clearest of shots but I had to enlarge both photos quite a lot to compensate for the fact that I don't own a decent zoom lens, YET!


Some parrots came to visit in the backyard and I swear they landed in the tree next to me just because they saw my camera. When I saw the first one, I immediately set up the shot but then a second bird landed in the tree and really seemed to be wanting my attention. lol

Some years ago, I bought an Australian Bird Watchers Book but it has been packed away in boxes for many, many years. However, now is the time to dig it out and while I'm at it, I've decided that it's also time to have a HUGE cleanup. This is absolutely necessary otherwise I risk drowning in all the clutter that I've collected over the years.

In the past 10 years, I've moved house at least six times, one of those was interstate and EVERY move was a last minute decision. The only problem with this is that each move has been rushed and hasn't left enough time to sort through things properly, instead I've only had time to quickly pack boxes and leave them in storage. There are boxes that haven't been opened for years and some that I can't even remember what's inside them.


DSC_0206_steem.jpg

Please click images to open in full screen


But, no more..! I'm finally sick to death of tripping over stuff and not having any room to store my normal everyday stuff so my solution to this problem is a 10 item per day challenge.

Like usual, I'm not sure where I saw this idea and it (most-likely) may have come via a fellow Steemian, so if you are reading this post and you are also using the 10-item challenge as a way to declutter, please leave me a comment so I can give credit where credit is due...

smh - you think I'd remember to bookmark stuff like this but clearly, that's not my style

The main reason why I've adopted this approach is that this system works for me. I find it much easier to do a little bit every day otherwise I very quickly become overwhelmed by the thought and then it's just too easy to leave it all for another day.

So, every day I choose 10+ items to either throw in the rubbish or donate to charity (or a friend). Some days will be more but I try to choose at least 10 per day to ensure I'm still moving forward.

Anyhoo, I hope it doesn't take me until next spring to finish, although that would be a great head start to next years spring clean. (huh, cleaning? what does that mean?)

Thanks for stopping by and viewing my post, I appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

Please check out my recent posts:

Memories From The Bus (circa 2010)
Memories From The Bus (Part 2)
Reflection Photography
Message of Hope for 2019
Name That Plant (Cotyledon Orbiculata)

Line

Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi, @steem-plus!

You just got a 8.99% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @alphaccino.art
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Congratulations @alphaccino.art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Yes, they are very beautiful @pakpunjab and also very friendly and playful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99