Choosing The University Course That is Right For You

in #life6 years ago


Image source

You've just finished high school and you are about to embark on the most exciting time of your life, college (or University). You get the University brochure and in it, you find 5000 different courses. All the courses look good, their description promosing an awesome career and daily life-changing moments.

It is at that moment that you find that you are not just going off to another school, you are going to have to decide your future career. But how do you decide? There are so many different courses that lead to different careers. You imagine yourself doing well in each of them, changing the world and making a difference.

So how do you decide which course to study at university?

The Recommended Reading List


Image source

You can request for the reference list or the recommended reading list of the course that you are interested in. The reading list will cut through all the marketing that an institution may put forth. Furthermore, it prepares you for what is to come. An example is in the teaching profession. Many perceive teaching to be just standing in front of the class and teach. However, the course syllabus consist of far more than that, from education psychology all the way to managing resources.

As such, a quick glance through a few of the books found in the recommended reading list would help provide clarity. It helps provide an overview as to what you are expected to study would help you decide if you would enjoy the entire course as a whole. Furthermore, it also prepares you mentally on what to expect. Most of us have a vague idea of what we want to do in the future. For example, the job of an engineer consist of mechanical, electrical, chemical and other sub branches. Reading the recommended reading list would help you decide which best suit your interest and strengths.

On another note, I had a student who enjoyed teaching but hated the required thesis at the final semester. I then suggest that she considered other teaching courses that did not have a research thesis component. Thus, it is good to check the course structure. It is good to know what coursework and assignments are required in order for you to graduate. This could save you from regret many semesters down the road.

However, if you are still undecided after reading the books found in the recommended reading list, perhaps consider sitting in one of the lectures?

Sit In One Of The Lectures


Image source

Sitting in one of the lectures does help you get an idea on who you will be learning from. I once had to decide on one of my courses in university. It was between a foreign language and philosophy. I chose philosophy not because I had any interest in it, but because my lecturers was so cool. There was a blind lecturer with an incredible sense of humour and his assistant who had flourescent pink hair.

Every week, their lecture was like a talk show on TV, filled with props and surprises. I had so much fun I signed up for a second semester. Another aspect that would help by sitting in the lectures would help you see how many classmates you would have. Personally, I prefer a small class. That is beacause I would be able to get the support from my lecturer better as compared to a large class.

Internship

Finally, you may want to consider not starting your studies in your university for a while. Take up an internship in a job that you desire. Experience is the best teacher and it will help you determine if a particular job is what you hope that it would be.

In addition, an internship would help you learn from those with experience. Often times, what is learnt may not be truly represented in the workplace. Thus, it will help you decide if a course that you have chosen is truly worth pursuing.


Image source

Conclusion

I hope this has helped you in deciding what to study in university. It is a big decision and careful thought should be given to it before making a decision. I write this because I have seen many of my students pursuing a course that sounded cool, only to regret much later in life.

Finally, enjoy your university days, it is the best time of your life. Take the opportunity to learn, forge connections and make a difference before you even step out into the working world. All the best!


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

This is really an important information for the youth..especially in my country...thank you for this

Follow me my friend

This is a very interesting and invaluable post @alvinauh. SPM or STPM school leavers should read this. Nowadays, most students tend to choose the wrong courses for themselves and therefore some of them will be jobless after graduating. I agree with your advice, these school leavers should try internship before deciding what they wanted to be in the future.

Thanks for the article! My homeroom students are in grade 12. It's interesting for me to hear their struggles as it reminds me of my own!

Some kids know exactly want to be when they "grow up", but others, like me, feel very overwhelmed when it comes to choosing a life-long profession. My sincere advice is to explore options as much as you can, even if you have to take a gap year to do so.

I say this because I rushed into choosing a subject, which I eventually graduated in, but never used. I enjoyed studying it, but applying it, well that's a whole different story.

Very good and important advice @alvinauh

It's pretty easy for me, i opt for my interest. Back then, a lot of my friends not sure what to study and they just blindly follow friends. I've already decided very early that IT is the way I wanted to move into. So, i just have to choose college, rather than choose subjects.

Good post,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84