ACADEMIA IS DEAD! Short preface to upcoming collection of essays on the topic

in #life6 years ago

I'm going back to school. Grad school. First semester. There is MUCH to say on the topic of "the state of education in America" and at some point i will say it. All of it. But at this point i haven't decided exactly what to say in regards to the school i am currently taking classes at. That remains to be seen. For obvious reasons.

But here is a real life example, not of the broader situation, but a specific event that happened in my life today which when brought to light i believe, in its own little way, helps prove my point that ACADEMIA IS DEAD! It is a short story of a slight (one of so, so many) against me by the HUGE and AGGRESSIVELY STUPID school i went to for undergrad. Here's what happened this afternoon:

I stopped by my old campus, entered Keezle, the English building, went to the fourth floor and visited one of my old profs and gave him a copy of my poetry book. I had another copy with me that I was planning on donating to the school's library, although I was not sure if they would want one. My former professor encouraged me, saying of course they would.
I entered the library. Where once was a great and imposing circulation desk, there now were two kiosks with a computer and a person at each. I introduced myself to the student worker and explained that I was an alumna, that I wrote a book and that I would love to donate a copy to their library.
She said let me talk to my supervisor, as i had anticipated she would.
After a few moments the girl returned and informed me that they do not accept donations but there was a box outside the front door to donate books to schools in Africa or something.
I laughed in her face and walked out.

ACADEMIA IS DEAD

I know that that is a minor example and a personal one, but this is only the prologue of many future essays on the topic.

HIGHER EDUCATION THESE DAYS IS A SHAM AND A SCAM. AVOID. AVOID. AVIOD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71