Taking a New Tack

in #life6 years ago

Since law school started, my presence on Steemit was pretty slim. It's been the single most arduous undertaking of my entire life. Now that my second semester is well under way, I've decided to make some changes to my posting habits, so I can be present here more often

A lot of that is going to focus on commenting. I used to comment a lot, and I used to reply to people's comments often. That's just being polite, in my opinion; if someone reads what you have to say and leaves a comment, the courteous thing to do is respond to them. They're not leaving flyers on your door, after all. This last year has been a lot less involved for me across Steemit and Discord, and I'm going to work on changing that.

The other part of this change is going to be in the nature of my posts. When I first joined Steemit, I composed essays about political topics, and attempted to go through a number of series based both on my own experience and other sources. I treated Steemit as a place I could lay down just the really important work; I was still on Facebook for my day to day stuff (and the memes). Since I've deleted my Facebook account (or so FB tells me), I haven't had a social media outlet. So I'm going to be including simpler posts from here on. Updates about my personal life, or what's going on that day, or any number of other social things, rather than focusing exclusively on political articles and legal essays.

Additionally, I'm going to be present on The Writer's Block much more than I have been. For the same reasons I turned into a ghost on Steemit, I've been equally separated from The Writer's Block, and I need to change that. For everyone who's there already, expect me around more often. For those of you who haven't ever been to the Block, it's a community we run on Discord to help writers improve their craft and discuss the art of writing fiction. The link to join the server is at the bottom of the post.

Don't worry. Anyone who is a fan of my Adventures in Law School series will still get all the information I'm planning on putting out. Just going to be adding a lot more content there as well.




If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see the first text box, and type in the name "noblewitness"!
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet, Steem Romania, and the Fiction Workshop on the Writer's Block.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.libertynineline.com/2018/10/21/taking-a-new-tack/
Sort:  

I'm not surprised you find it tough keeping up the posting etc. if yer at law school.

I've found the same thing with the time it takes at a full time job and maintaining my main blog.

At leasr you know yer limits.

I think steemit is quite a good place for logging personal stuff. That's mainly what I use it for.

Steempress is just great too!

Posted using Partiko Android

It really is. I'm going to be relying on Partiko as well, I think. Mainly I keep it for keeping track of people responding to comments, but, I might start posting from it as well.

I just need to get back into the habit of doing it. Once it's a habit, it becomes autonomous. Biological bot hacking, you know? :D

@Partiko's great - also for checking vote weights in yer posts at a glance!

I need to get into the habit of steeming regularly for a couple if solid hour sessions s day rather than on and off all day!

Posted using Partiko Android

I went through physical therapy school and that took every fiber of my being. That was before steemit even existed btw. Anyway commenting on people's posts is a really good way to get yourself out there and even meet some cool new steemians

I can only imagine. My ex is going through nursing school and it's unbelievably difficult. Never fails to amaze me just how hard it is to prep for a particular career, instead of just getting a degree.

I have friends who are RNs it's a fierce education

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87