I am intrigued with the beauty of onion flowers......

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sprouting brown onions were planted in one of my big pots not so long ago with no other intent than seeing what will grow. I was hoping that I will get some home grown organic onions. There was nothing to loose! Interestingly, the onion shoots started to peek up above the soil almost immediately and totally wrapped in my success I did what gardeners do, I continued to hose them over the next few weeks.

Then what seemed like no time at all a number of tall green onion plants grew up looking very majestic in my big pot. Oh the feeling of self-satisfaction was high, this is so easy and I really love the way nature works. All I did was to plant some sprouting onions. Much to my surprise flower bulbs appeared. Now this is intriguing, flowers are coming. What a treat to behold when in a few days this is exactly what occurred.

Beautiful white onion flowers on top of the tall onion stalks. I would pick them but that might hamper the growth of the vegetable. I am thinking that the seeds in the flower are going to fall into the pot so they will grow into more green onion stalks. A double plus, pretty onion flowers in the backyard and a crop of organic onions.


Cheers


Sort:  

howdy angiemitchell! wow those things are tall, you can tell they're vry healthy!

I am going to keep sprouting onions janton, and maybe even cut a few for a vase, lol

I do the same thing with random sprouting vegetables. I also love the looks of these guys. I believe chives have a very similar way of flowering, but I suppose they are related.

Such a fun pastime isn't it @ginnyannette? I am on a roll now!

I approve your job :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58