I really hate tasteless bananas ......

in #life5 years ago

It is always disappointing when I buy savourless bananas. What is the use of this. Here I am a Queenslander living is the Banana State and these bananas have no flavour. There is no way I can taste before I buy, there is no dish of cut up banana for the buyer to try. Wish it was as easy as eating a grape.

They should go back to Aldi!

I enjoy bananas, no sorry ----I love them! For as long as I can remember I have eaten bananas every day so I could say that they are my favourite fruit. To me, they are like a little meal that I can carry in my bag to eat on the run or in a meeting or before exercising. I have always found that a banana gives me the energy, keeps me going. I am always amazed at the nutritious power of bananas.

In case you do not know, there are some real health benefits associated with eating bananas, some I have known about for several years and some I have just discovered with the help of wikipedia. Like for instance, they have a high level of potassium, containing 350 to 450 mg depending on the size of the banana. An adult can actually eat 7 1/2 bananas a day. They are full of fibre, have no cholesterol, a little bit of protein and sodium and a little bit of Vitamin A.

Bananas are known to assist one's cardio vascular health, elevate mood and can assist with a good night's sleep. I am really on a winner here!

Just in case you are wondering, I prefer to eat bananas in the morning, sometimes at lunch but never at night. My body does not digest bananas easily at night. They are a versatile fruit, good for smoothies and cake baking, s people bake them for deserts.

My friendly neighbour has planted a banana tree on her side of the fence so I can score a bunch of bananas when they grow. i am very touched at her thoughtfulness.

Love and happiness guys


Cheers and thanks for reading for your support.


Sort:  

Here there is almost only Cavendish bananas in the shops, and they pretty much all taste the same (except, some can be greener than others). Perhaps you have Gros Michel? I'm not even sure I've ever tasted Gros Michel ...

We have lady fingers and cavendish bananas only @tobixen. But there is a sugar type of cavendish that grows in yards - they are very sweet. I have not seem these in grocery stores.

Related article: https://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/18/opinion/18koeppel.html

I've read it before, that the cavendish is doomed ...

a new, more virulent strain of Panama disease has begun to spread across the world, and this time the Cavendish is not immune. The fungus is expected to reach Latin America in 5 to 10 years, maybe 20. The big banana companies have been slow to finance efforts to find either a cure for the fungus or a banana that resists it. Nor has enough been done to aid efforts to diversify the world’s banana crop by preserving little-known varieties of the fruit that grow in Africa and Asia.

That was written more than ten years ago ... so what's the update?

https://www.quora.com/Is-the-cavendish-banana-doomed-to-extinction

The Cavendish is currently in the early stages of collapse. Experts agree that further collapse is inevitable.

The same answer also defines "collapse" as "functional extinction", the Cavendish Bananas will never go completely extinct, but they will disappear from the ordinary super markets and they for sure won't be a cheap staple fruit.

There have always been cavendish, I have never thought that they would be extinct. I have to say that it is not often I get tasteless bananas, just now and then. Thanks for the information. I'll enjoy reading it all.

I found a bunch of information at http://panamadisease.org/ as well :-)

Thank you, I appreciate your efforts.

There's more nutrition on the skin,!

Posted using Partiko Android

How interesting, I did not know this.

@angiemitchell You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Howdy angiemitchell! oh I love them too, you guys, I mean Australia grows all your own for your own country? Why didn't you plant a banana tree in your yard?

Hi janton, sorry I just found your comment - banana trees take up a lot of room and sadly not room left our gardens😐

oh that's ok, I forgot about the question! But yeah I guess you don't need one if your neighbor is growing one beside you, that's very convenient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95