Mothering and Sentimentalism Go Together~

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When I looked at this broken angel this morning I realised I have caught the sentimental bug. It started a very long time ago! I received this cute little glass angel for Mother's Day from my youngest son when he was a poor Uni student. I was very touched at his gesture, it was given with love and I received it with love. I recall feeling special at the time because he knew that I loved angels. Even though it does not look like it used to, I still feel the love that went into this little gift.

My husband, bless his cotton socks has glued this angel together a couple of times already. One day he will get around to fixing it again. I will be patient a little while longer.

Take a look

As I reflect on my strong sentimentalism I can honestly admit that it came with the unconditional love only a parent can experience for a child. Everything my children made for me, the cards at school and the little handmade gifts I have careful stored away. Their scrapbooks for kindergarten and grade one are carefully packed away. Even though my three are independent grown up adults I still enjoy looking at all this old stuff now and then. I love reminiscing over photo albums. I also love the gifts they give as adults.

I can still picture finding little letters, newspaper photos and other memorabilia my dad had stored away. My sisters and brothers were touched when we found them after dad left this world. Mum was very open about her collection of sentimental stuff about us. But not dad. It is a parent's disease or maybe better still it is a parent's joy! Whatever way one wants to describe it, it is here to stay forever.


Cheers
Angie

Thanks for reading and for your support.

It is appreciated.

Please upvote and esteem.


Sort:  

I like it

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

that's so moving that your dad had all those keepsake's stored away and no one knew about them, sounds like a typical tough male...who has a soft heart. thanks Angie, very touching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86