My workup to the dentist appointment ..... always a fun time not!

in #life6 years ago

Now, going to the dentist would not be such a hyped occasion if as a little girl I had not sat in the chair having my teeth drilled by a Dentist with piercing blues and no anaesthetic. Dr Powell, is never forgotten! My vivid memories of the excruciating pain lie dormant in my core memory banks, that is until my yearly dental appointment draws near. I can't help but feel a little nervous and I don't know why because Dentists these days are so very good, caring and pain free.

Illogical right? I think so, come on Angie Mitchell get a grip! *Look at all the reasons why one must go the Dentist and to the Hygienist. Remember you do this every year to maintain good teeth! Being gummy in old age is not an option!

There is no way that my childhood Dentist with the piercing blue eyes is controlling me, I am going to be so consumed with fear and never go to the dentist. I want to keep my teeth for my entire life and I want my teeth to be healthy and well. If teeth are healthy so is your body. I have read up on the facts that unhealthy teeth are likely to be a sign of unwellness in the physical body. Another good reason to look after the teeth, get to the Dentist and the Hygienist regularly. My sad memories of good old Dr Powell, the drilling man with piercing blue eyes gets pushed into the deep recesses of my brain!

If all my good rational thoughts about going to the Dentist wavers just a little I remember a story told by an acquaintance several years ago.

My father I am positive must have been on the Autism Spectrum, he was very sensitive and black and white, a man who had set ideas. Dad did not like brushing his teeth and so he never did it. My mum made sure that we brushed morning and night teaching us good oral hygiene. Dad was adamant that no dentist was going to look inside his mouth so he didn't go to the dentist either. Well, of course my dad has lost all but a couple of teeth. I am sure he developed gum disease. Even now, if dad was asked whether he regretted not brushing his teeth or going to the dentist, he would say no.

Worse story ever, right? But it is the best incentive I ever had to keep teeth extra clean and visit the Dentist and Hygienist.


Cheers


Sort:  

howdy again angiemitchell! wow..your dentist when you were a little kid didn't use any anaesthetic? What in the world? sounds cruel! I hope he was cheap.

Haha janton, I don't know, my dad paid the fees. I have not the foggiest why piercing blue eyes did this. Maybe he thought it was not safe for children to have anaesthetic.

oh my gosh.. that's sounds like something from the horror movies! And it did give you terror of dentists for years didn't it? Which is totally understandable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01