The quality of our goals determines the quality of our future - Emotional intelligence and its importance for your business

in #life6 years ago (edited)

What I have learned during a hotel stay may change the way you think about your employees. A few cents turned into massive profit. A very personal story.

0f44f9_5e4fdae8c99e41ac9d8e0ce0a8291640.jpg
artwork above: finding your place by anutu

Quality is a word which every company, every human being has to define for himself. Whether the quality understanding of a company is the same as that of the customer or guest is a completely different question.

For me, quality is a lasting value associated with emotions. Emotions set an exclamation mark in our memory. One of the most important link mechanisms we have known since birth!

Knowledge connected to emotions seems to be the basis for everything we are today and call individuality.

I remember a business trip to Miami. As a interior designer and marketing expert working in the hospitality and travel industry since 1991, I was called to assist a client. While waiting for my client, I wanted to use the precious time. I made myself comfortable at the lobby lounge of a 5 star hotel on Brickell Key. Computer opened up. Reading e-mails.

UNWANTED BREAK!!

An employee of the hotel spoke to me.

Actually, I really, really wanted to finish my mails and meeting preparation. An unwanted break. This conversation was not scheduled.

"Have you ever been to China?"

What a strange question I thought. Still wanted to continue my work. BUT, in need to be polite ... regained control over my ego and answered "no".

"When I think of China I think of a really good beer." Said the polite hotel staff.

Well, with beer I think about Germany or Bavaria, but certainly not China, I said quietly to myself.

The imperial period came into my mind. 1898. Germans and their imperial colony in China. Germans were not popular there in those days. But the german beer was for sure.

The hotel person carried on with the conversation ...

"On my first visit to China being together with friends, I tasted a beer that I did not know before. Since then I always think of my friends and the hearty mood when I enjoy this beer."

"May I invite you ... try it ... we import this beer to give our guests an authentic experience. Our hotel owners are from China."

I agreed and got into a relaxing mood. The pressure to work through my papers fell with every sip. A gift from a stranger. The friendliness, the relaxed mood in the lobby, the sharing of good stories and good memories.

A wonderful experience!

A profane bottle of beer turned into a very valuable gift. The loving and authentic approach had enchanted me. Even today this beer is a gift and a kind of time capsule. A simple beer worth a few cents turned - connected to emotions - into a precious bottle filled with memories and good feelings. Emotions that are always accessible and comfortable as a warm bubble bath in my bathtub. The connection was made.

I can still taste it today. It still connects me to this wonderful hotel and a memorable place.

I have returned countless times to this hotel and will in future.

An investment by the hotel owner of a few cents turned into profit

... and ...

a very happy returning customer!

@anutu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90