You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "You catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar."

in #life6 years ago

As a Bisaya I received uncountable laughs for my hard intonation. Some people thought that English is a basis of intellegence. But they’re strongly wrong. Thanks for this post @bearone! It gives us, the native dialect speakers of the Philippines a motivation. And yes, even a tiny bit, others do not have the license to insult people. May God bless and enlighten those people.

Sort:  

Learning another language is hard and requires effort and practice. I learned English for my survival. I saw it as, now Im here, if I cant speak English how can I communicate?

The thing that amazes me, and something Im very proud of, is despite English not being the native language of the Philippines. Most everyone can read, write and speak it very well. And you guys didnt have to learn it, it was a choice to learn a second language.

That's something to be proud of as a nation.

What gets me with this whole situation is Im finding people who should be more understanding are the same people who dont hesitate to tear fellow filipinos down just because their English isn't as good as theirs.

That's not right.

May God enlighten them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81