You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emergency Preparedness // Making a Bug Out Bag

in #life6 years ago

I would go for silver pieces over gold. Stitch them into your clothes to conceal them. It helps hide them but also makes the item of clothing heavy so you can bludgeon an assailant with it. :)

I would include a firearm if you're thinking of self-defense. It's easier to neutralise a threat at a distance than to engage them in close quarter combat and take them out with a knife.

I recommend reading '100 Deadly Skills' by Clint Emerson because he explains why you need latex sheaths in emergency situations also :D

https://www.amazon.com/100-Deadly-Skills-Operatives-Surviving/dp/147679605X

Sort:  

ooh great idea bout stitching precious metals into my clothing. Do you recommend silver because the overal value is lower and so i'm not overpaying for items?

Thanks for the book suggestion too! Looks like there are a lot of great resources in that book that would help inform my decisions for how to prep for emergencies.

Also, thanks for your input on the gun topic. I think you are right that I need to make that happen! I don't have the combat skills to win a close quartered encounter and so I can see how a gun would serve me better.

I imagine that gold, especially if it was displayed or carried in the open, or used in a transaction would make you a target to be robbed if it got passed around that you'd had something of value. Somebody might make the assumption that you have more and target you for a robbery.

Plus yeah smaller denomination makes it easier to pay for small incidental items. You don't want to hand over a 1/4 oz gold coin if you're transacting with somebody who can only source and sell you $5 worth of flour for example.

All fair points. It seems like having a mix of gold and silver in different sizes would be the best way to go. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81