You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do We Know What Happiness Is?

in #life7 years ago

Hey @kaylinart - Very good post and a profund topic, actually one of the most important topics. There are soooooo many different concepts and perspectives out there - from Sigmund Freud thesis, that there is no "real" happyness (see civilization and its discontents) or Epikur, Albert Camus and and and...

In terms of the short-term happyness I always have to think about our "fun-society" and how we are socialized to be consumers - I hope we can create a society which does support the opposite one day. What do you think?

Sort:  

Wow I love that!!
I love that you brought up that we are taught to be consumers because it's so true! I'm realizing that as I consume less I'm actually happier, Because I know I'm damaging the environment less, Saving money and not "Wasting" resources that could go to a much better cause.

thanks @kaylinart :-) you are so right!!

Do you know the book "having or being" - I highly and strongly recommend it in this context. It is so full of truth and Erich Fromm was really a great man.

Oh man, you and @krnel totally inspire me to write something in english. I just wish my english would be more sophisticated and I could express myself like I can in my mothertongue. BUT I will try it in the next two or three weeks - so thanks to you two :-D

Have a great day, blessings, Martin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70840.59
ETH 3807.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42