Silly Steemy questions.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

ahoy1mini.jpg

Hello there fellow sailors of the seas of zeros and ones.

I joined in Steemit a few month ago, i love it.
it's a great place to share art and life experiences and a wonderful place to see what else is out there without the nonsense and madness of the poplar oversaturated social networks.

But to be honest, i have no clue what is going on here when it comes to steem and it's power.
I keep posting and commenting and slowly my world here is growing but i have no idea what to do with it, i tried to read here and there but for the life of me i just feel like a little kid on his first day of school, pretty much clueless.

I asked myself a question, what if i am in dire need to financial aid, how in god's name do my hands can reach these steem dollars that i see on my feed and in my wallet? i have no idea, i realise i am really not well educated how to go and move things around, where to go, what sites to add on to make things work for me, should i just keep doing what i do without knowing where my time and wealth is going? not too sure about that, i am positive that it is irresponsible to be here without knowing what the system is and how it works...

so i am asking for help, can someone please point me to a great simplified place where i can learn and be able to make use of this steem world we are in? A place where i can have the A B C of how this system works without breaking my brain to much. (I am a multi functional dyslectic artist with serious concentration issues! but i am working on that!)

thank you for your time and patience.
i am sure we have all been there...

me the clueless.
Adida

The picture is me looking for answers with my buddy skully. we are on the seas of knowledge and we are looking for a friendly island of widome to tell us the unwritten story of our successes.

Sort:  

The best way to learn is to ask questions to the community and you are paid to do this ! My gosh $51 to ask a question !!! where else this could append ? you are lucky to be ignorant !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Well the truth is there isn't a super simple way to go from Steem (or SBD) to a fiat currency. The first thing you are going to have to do is make an account at a cryptocurrency exchange that trades Steem and SBD. There are lots, I use Bittrex myself but you can see full list of exchanges that have a Steem trading pair here:
https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/steem/trading_exchanges

Once you have an account at an exchange that has a Steem trading pair, then you have to figure out how you are going to withdraw fiat currency. Many (most?) exchanges let you connect your bank account, but there aren't any direct Steem to fiat currency trading pairs so you have to trade between first - e.g. trade Steem/SBD for Bitcoin, and then trade Bitcoin for fiat currency. If you don't have a bank account and/or don't want to have the paper trail, you could also get something like the Bitpay card which allows you to load Bitcoin to the card and converts it to equivalent USD value that you can spend like a normal Visa debit card (use it anywhere you could use a Visa, and withdraw cash from ATMs).

I know that isn't particularly simple and it actually glosses over how you actually withdraw Steem to an exchange, but that part depends on the particular exchange. Let me know if you have any questions :)

It would be nice to have steem on some crypto debit cards, like “Wirex debit card” which already got 8 crypto currencies. Would be nice to suggest for them to add steem as well. By the way I am Wirex user as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Even if i don't get it yet i would love to see a easy click where you can simply click your steem and right on that wallet platform you can send your money to where ever is possible and the machine will convert and transform everything for you, i guess i watch to much Sci Fi movies that i think things can be that easy but i guess it might happen, i mean back in the day you need to go dig gold in the ground and carry it miles from hunters and look for a bank to convert it into something, now we click here and there and move money in all forms to all forms almost. hope the future is bright like that...

Believe it will get more user friendly all crypto ecosystem, it still so early 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you so much, i will read this again and again and will try what you have mentioned, i am just happy someone from the community is there to help nubiz and clueless artists like myself who love the platform but have no idea how the zeros and ones work, thank you again, i hope once i figure this out i myself will be able to help others that are also lost in the virtual space of goodness.

please feel free to reply to me here if you have any questions :)

I so understand how you feel. I was completely lost before I have invested for the first time. I haven't cashed anything out yet but I think I will know how to do it as it's just a backwards transaction of what I've done before - and it was not easy. There is no simple way to do it and there is also no clear guidance about it...

Now it's anyway not the right time to cash it out as the value is not that good. I would wait for some time and see how it develops. But if I can suggest you something then it would be to contact someone on discord who has already done it and ask him/her for help. People are willing to share their experience so I would not worry about it :)

Thank you so much, yes i had a feeling i was not the only one, i first notice that when i was checking the main platform and notice so many words and lingo terms i never heard, it made me feel a little out of place and when i tried to find out more i got overwhelmed of how much i don't know and that i am in a platform with a full on life on it's own and i am just a kid in a mega theme park fully operational, like first day in disneyland, you have no idea what where and when, everything is shiny and there are people going all over the place, until your mama grabs you by the hand and gives you a map you start to get the magnitude of the place.

As an artist i spend every minute creating worlds in my mind and art and i love sharing it, i came here because it felt new, fresh and really out of the box place, plus the disappointment from other social networks made sense for a desire for a new futuristic world, the concept of getting paid over posts and sharing and true honest and effective communication in a growing community is absolue a future i want to see and be part of but again, i do sense like i am in a new land without the ability to speak the native language, i know a little but i wish there was a part in here to help new and advance users when it comes to the functional financial world of steem, (funny enhouf there might already by a place like this and i totally missed it) i know i am asking too much for now but it is just a thought for even a brighter future.

i will try to take time off and get into some info and learn how to move things around and find someone to help me and hopefully i can offer the same for others also in time.

There are many authors writing about how... and what..., so you might be able to find your answers by searching within steemit. I do that when I want to know the details of something.
Unfortunately I don't know the one good place to find all you want to know but http://steemonboarding.com/ should have most of them covered in the near future.
I think what you are doing is great. You are very creative and I admire that.
I understand the feeling of omg I don’t know very much about Steem! I was there and I’m still learning little by little.
Joining some of the community on discord is great too if you haven’t done it. You can get some help there. Good luck! ;)

First set up a crypto wallet with coinsquare.io - call it your "Crypto Paypal" if that makes it simpler. Once you have that, you use blocktrades (here on Steemit, it's more or less just a currency exchange for cryptos) to turn your Steem into Litecoin, then transfer it to your wallet. Once it's in your wallet, you can transfer it to your bank. The first transfer takes about 10 days so if you'll need money ASAP it's not the best. And, you have to have at least $100CDN to cash out from your wallet to your bank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80