Are you afraid to put yourself out there?

in #life7 years ago

download.jpg

A lot of us are afraid to put ourselves out there. We can’t help but wonder what other people will think of us. Questions like this cross our minds:
“will they think I’m dumb?” or
“what if this isn’t good enough and people will say mean things or laugh at me?”.

It’s easier to tear someone or something down than to build up, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try because of all these fears that are holding us back. The longer you wait, the more likely you’ll never get to it, so just start doing it now! Even if it’s only a little bit! A little bit everyday goes a long way! Even if it’s just 10 minutes a day!

So don’t let the fear of what others might think or say, hold you back! You and only you are responsible for doing the things you want to do in life, no one else! So by not doing these things, you’ll only end up punishing yourself. After all it’s better to at least try something, even if you fail at it, then never get around to it, wouldn’t you agree?!

Also don’t take any negativity you may run into personal. There will always be “haters”, and it actually says more about them than it says about you! Let them “hate” while everyday you are becoming more and more the person you want to be!

So start today with whatever it is you would like to get better at! You can do it! #believe


Here are some other posts you might like!

1)How to stop taking things personally: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/stop-taking-things-personally
2)On asking favors: https://steemit.com/steemit/@athenajade/let-s-spread-that-steemit-love
3)How I got off my couch and started to run: https://steemit.com/health/@athenajade/couch-to-5k
4)On how language influences us: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/do-we-speak-the-same-language
5)On absolute truths: https://steemit.com/psychology/@athenajade/debate-1-is-there-such-a-thing-as-an-absolute-universal-truth
6)On the limitations our conditioning puts upon us: https://steemit.com/life/@athenajade/this-inner-cage-called-conditioning
7)On growing our own potential: https://steemit.com/life/@athenajade/whatever-you-are-doing-you-are-getting-better-at-it


Follow me: @athenajade

Sharing is caring banner.jpg

Sort:  

Def not afraid to put myself out there! haha in fact probably Quite the opposite. Gonna give you a follow cuase its a great day! hee happy steem power hump day

Thanks!!! :) It is a great day indeed! Let's make it even better!!! :)

I use to care what people thought of me but after graduating college it seems that I don't really care what people think and im ready to jump ahead and put myself out there!

That's great to hear! Good luck! :)

Well said. As an introvert by nature it has been always difficult to comunicate, even in this manner. But for some reason I am very comfortable here on steemit.

I'm happy to hear you found a place you feel at home! :) Sometimes it's a matter of breaking some barriers to feel more comfortable with things that were even harder before. Maybe after feeling more comfortable here, you'll start feeling more comfy in other situations as well! :)

I am afraid to put myself out there, even from behind the monitor like this. Because english is not my native language and I know that my english is still messy, sometimes I stare at my writings for a couple of minutes before I post it, because I'm afraid people would think I'm stupid or something. I'm not trying to be special snowflakes here, just sharing my thought.
Anyway, great post. Really helpful, you know that

I know the feeling! I'm a little bit of a perfectionist at times so it takes me ages to post because I want it to be good. Don't let it hold you back though! Like you'll get better at it when you do it often and honestly you can't really make mistakes. Things that didn't work out the way you intended will show you what might work! By looking at the things you do as lessons to be learned it's all ok. :) And honestly... what's the worst that can happen, right?

What if someone says you are stupid? Why would any happy person in the first place make a statement like that to begin with? It says a lot about that person. Any happy person would look at the potential you have and have respect for you trying!

So no worries! Just do it! Don't let toxic people put you down mkay and keep it up! :)

You every words are helpful. Just what I needed, just what everyone needed. I hope you won't have to deal with toxic people in your life, and please stay awesome

i like you post my friend

Happy to hear you did!😉

Thanks for sharing! Great post!

I was an addict alcoholic 3 and a half years ago. My life was chaotic and dysfunctional until I decided to get recovery. The more I grow the more gentle and open and never afraid to put myself out there. Knowing your worth is very important and having confidence makes it that much easier. Thank you for the post

I'm happy it all worked out for you! I can imagine it must have been a big and hard step to take! I agree knowing your worth and going for what you believe in defines you and makes life worthwhile. I love setting goals and trying to reach them! I tend to do this whole the time, with whatever I do and try to be as present as possible by doing so. :)

Congratulations @athenajade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70956.31
ETH 3809.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50