Do you love your job? How if you don't?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

"Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life", they say.
I agree about that.
But my question to you all is:
"Are you really happy with what you do now?"
"Is your job really the one you wanted?"

I work as a lecturer in a university in Banda Aceh. Well, since my childhood, when I was asked "what are you in the future?" I always answered "A medical doctor". I always want to help people, to cure (and to heal) people. But due to some circumstances, I could not achieve it. And here I am, a civil engineer who continued study in Water Resources Management, and then became a lecturer in a Environmental Engineering Departments. During my teenage (and continue to young adult stage) I worked as a radio broadcaster, which brought out my other potential: creative and stage world.
Creative: working at a radio station forced me to be creative. Scriptwriting, broadcasting with a lot of things to say, dubbing (with different voices and figures), programming (writing a programme, and producing it regularly, preparing everything for that programme), and so on. Yeah, sometimes also involved in arranging design for logo, proposal, etc.
Stage: I learned to become an MC (master of ceremony) and work as MC and get paid for it. It is worth it.

Now, as a lecturer, I can find my way of life: creative. How to arrange lecturer support items, how to communicate in class effectively, how to manage website for my departments (CREATIVE SIDE), sometimes helping students or my departments or even the faculty in arranging a ceremony/events, sometimes directing students to become an MC, and sometimes I become MC myself (STAGE SIDE).

So, do I feel happy?
Yes, of course.
Although I could't be an MD (I had buried my aspiration long ago, lol), I can enjoy my work.
But sometimes, only sometimes, when I am asked to do things that is out of my capability/comfortability, I feel pressure, but somehow I can manage it.
But, do I really happy?
Well, actually I am a man of creative world. I want to do this, I want to do that, I want to travel, I want to write, I want to make a book, I want to be on stage again (I sing sometimes), I want to make music again, oh only God knows how lotta things I wanna do, lol.

But, for now, I am great. Looking forward for evertything I want to do :)

How about you?
I repeat my questions:
"Are you really happy with what you do now?"
"Is your job really the one you wanted?"
and I add:
"How you manage if what you do now is not what you really want to do?"
I wanna hear stories.
Are you doing what you're doing right now until a moment when you can be free to do what you really want to do?
Or, maybe you really fit into what you are doing now? I hope so, my friend :)

Anyway, if we cannot do what we really love, I hope we can really love what we do now.

Sort:  

Congratulations @auliyyaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71