COMMUNICATION... A GREAT WAY OF KEEPING RELATIONSHIPS

in #life6 years ago


•••

I don't like going through the wall of someone that just died. Because the kind of tributes I see there makes me sick to my stomach. It makes me burn with indifference and anger.
Here's an example of the kind of tribute I'm talking about.
"Oh, my God! Xyz, I can't believe you're gone, we spoke earlier this year, never did I know that that'll be the last time I'd hear your voice."
"ABC, what am I hearing ? The last time we talked proper was in 1900. I remember you sent me a message in 1984, but I kept pushing it, now in 2017, I'm hearing you're dead. I feel​ so....."
Pheww!
And this leads me to the question that has been in my mind since this morning.
People, how do you go on for even one month, without having a conversation with your friend, not even an acquintance, someone you know, and you're comfortable ? How are you always comfortable ?
You Know, the punchline is always "we're busy."
When you picture how Rapunzel grew up, locked in a castle only seeing the witch. That's exactly how I grew up, except that there was no golden hair to throw down to any prince. I was allowed to go-to school and church.
So I knew only few people. Maybe that's why I understand the importance of people.
This is 2017, there are so many mediums of communication, but real communication is difficult.
We see each other on Facebook, and we assume all is fine. Ken asked a question some days ago. "When last did you speak to that friend. The fact that you interact on each others post does not equal communication​."
Check on your people. No one is asking you to be all up on their faces 24/7 lest you become a pest.
It takes nothing from you.
You are never too​ busy. Unless you don't have a life, everyone is busy with one thing or the other. A five minutes conversation, assuring them that someone still thinks they exist won't wreck you bankrupt. Your ego will still be there.
We ignore people for months or even years, and go on to justify it with the silliest reasons.
And this is not a one sided thing. You don't get to be checked upon all the time, return the gesture. People are not idiots. They notice how they're always the one initiating the conversations, they withdraw.
Some of y'all should also make it easy to be checked​ on. When someone you know cares comes to check on you, cut the attitude. Cut the one liners. Some of you be giving attitudes "yea" "Ok."
Long before you know it, they'll get tired of your shenanigans and leave you all alone to yourself.
Let's do better in the communication/human value department.!

Sort:  

Congratulations @awalaboy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73