THE REAPER!!!

in #life6 years ago

ArtTfEc9.jpg
I fumbled with the door latch for a long time before it gave. I snuck into the house. The power was out, so it was difficult to locate his room.
The blinds in the room were shut. I could almost hear the darkness breathe. It was completely still, save for his loud snore. The sweet smell of alcohol hung thickly in the stale air. I chuckled at the excitement mounting in me. It was almost like hide and seek. I produced a light source, that's when I saw him. He was sprawled on the bed, still in his work clothes. Just an hour earlier we'd been at the bar together. I'd made sure he'd drank enough.
I felt the veins in my neck throb, my heart's thumping almost rivalling his snore. I reached for my blade.
I stared at his face, forcing my memory to capture the moment. His thick lips hung open, a rivulet of saliva running down the side. Gripping the blade with both hands, I sank it into his neck. His eyes jerked open. His oversized lips tried to form words, but only blood spurted out. I staggered back, excited to watch him struggle. The satisfaction lay in the struggle. Then he began to choke, on his blood, trying all the while to get up from the bed. But the alcohol, the blood loss. It wasn't long before he was still, lying in the pool of crimson that soaked the sheets.
I sank into a chair. The effects of the pain medications were wearing off. The ache in my head would return soon. I gasped at the joy of number 15. Surely, I wouldn't forget his death in a hurry. It reminded me of number 2. It'd been an old woman, Maria. I had used a pillow. Old as she was, she'd nearly overpowered me. But it was those last moments, when my victims gave in, stopped struggling and leaned into death, I lived for.


The migraine was so intense, I gripped the table to stop from falling. I turned my pockets out, looking for the morphine. I was out. I sank to my knees. The migraine wave took awhile to peter out. I sighed. The cancer doctors had given me one year. That was 9 months ago. The migraines had become frequent. Wouldn't be long now. Knowledge of this infuriated me. Clenching my fists, I dragged myself up. If the grim reaper was going to have me, I'd take as many as I could with me.
I hurried towards the pharmacy.
'' Dr Amadi, this one you dey lose weight. Na the unpaid salary dey do you so? '' Nurse Hannah chirped.
I grinned and passed her the prescription note.
'' Did you hear Dr Peter was murdered? In his own house oh! '' she exclaimed, bagging my drugs.
'' I heard. It's sad. I must hurry now, Hannah. I've got an appointment. '' I said.


I'd almost given up when I saw nurse Hannah. The nurse meant to relieve her from her shift had come later than usual. I watched her walk briskly into the deserted streets. I followed her. When she turned the bend, I hurried towards her. I felt for the blade strapped to my shin.
She would be number 16.!

Sort:  

Congratulations @awalaboy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50