Summer salad🥗

in #life6 years ago

Over the weekend, some guests had come over for lunch. We were so busy preparing the main meal and desserts and the drinks! It was quite a celebration. My mum had prepared a starter, about the main meals and two types of drinks and my sister had made the dessert. All I did was clean the house and set the table. We almost forgot about a salad. Every lunch table needs a beautiful salad. I had offered to do the salad and unfortunately, we were low on ingredients to make the salad. There wasn't enough time to go out and get some salad ingredients. I had to make do with what was in the fridge. We were really limited with salad goodies. 

While putting together what we did have, I was left with a platter with a tiny bed of the little bit of lettuce that we did have, some chunks of cucumber and a few strips of carrot. My salad was looking very sad. I needed to add something to it. After all, it was the only food that I had offered to help with. I dug up the entire fridge looking for something to add. I then seen that my mum's fruit bowl had grapes and tangerines. I threw some grapes which kind of looked like olives and I cut the tangerines into blocks and threw that in too. 

In the grocery cupboard, my mum always has some pumpkin and sunflower seeds as well as dried cranberries, so I used that as my final touch to the salad. I also had to make my own salad dressing which was mayonnaise mixed with some Cajun spice. At the end, the salad looked great! I had called it a summer salad and surprisingly, the guests couldn't get over it. They loved it. I would've loved to share a picture of it but it had all gotten eaten up. 

Always remember, a salad doesn't have to have all the right ingredients.Use what is in the house and you can not go wrong. All you do is throw whatever vegetables and fruits you have in the house and give the salad a name🤣I will definitely be making my "summer salad" again as it was really good! 

Sort:  

My goodness! You must be really good at making salad. Everytime I make salad, I either make it a juice or add too much salt or pepper. Also most of the time, i cut my fingers too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59