Hard lessons to teach your children II

in #life6 years ago



Along the previously stated here, perhaps I will venture and be the parent whom my parents never were, and teach my children some cold-blooded truth that perhaps will prepare them to achieve better shot at a world which is truly challenging, as soon as they are ready.

  1. The world doesn't give a fuck
    Can you see all those trees, birds and insects? All those clouds, stars and oceans? All those beautiful things out there? Well... They are not there for us. Not for you. Not for me. Not for anyone. They are not there for our contemplation. They are there because they exist as independently as we do... And if someone tells you otherwise, please, please, don't let the know they are lying to you, but acknowledge that they are, and that they are probably trying to sell you something. Nothing has a purpose, only what we do can have one, and even so, will be our own, very subjective purpose. Please find your own, despite what I tell you. Despite what anyone tells you.
  2. What you do have consequences
    Remember that butterfly you tried to grab the other day, and I told you no, and you were mad at me? Well, if you had grabbed it, you would have killed it. What you do can affect, even kill other beings without your very knowledge. What you do, even if you don't know the implications beforehand,  can have implications on the world around you. Don't just do what you like. Do what you must.
  3. The world is a very nasty place
    Remember when I always tell you about not to talk to strangers? You always make a gamble when you talk to strangers. And I won't gamble with your safety. People can be evil, and can be kind. People can be all kinds of things. But the general rule of thumb is that this world will take advantage of you if you are weak. Will force you to do anything you don't want for the gain of others and your detriment. And it will hurt you whenever it can, because it can. Don't let it happen to you.
  4. The world is not fair, and you must treat it equally
    Remember when Tomas told it unfair that you had more money to buy at the canteen? Perhaps he was right. There will be always people that have more than you, and less than you, and probably don't deserve it. They probably do. But deserving has nothing to do with it. You have what you earn. And you must not feel bad because of it. Contrary to what they tell you, you must aim to improve what you have. What makes you unique.
  5. The government is shit
    Remember when I told you the president is there to protect us all? When I told you the military and police will always be on our side? And when I told you to always trust cops? I was lying to you. They are not always on our side.
  6. You are taught to be the least version of yourself
    Remember when the teacher told you to not read ahead? Darling, do it anyway. Always read ahead. Always learn more. Do more. Just make sure you don't upset your teacher, she's having a rough day already.
  7. Ambition is a good thing; don't settle for less than you want
    Remember when uncle Tom told you having money was bad, and desiring things was evil? Well, darling... Have you seen the van he drives? Have you seen his house? Have you seen what he eats, and the nice things he has?...
    You must desire things. You must desire to have more than you have now. You must desire to be more than you are now. Otherwise, you'll be like Tom. But know when to stop. Desiring too much is as evil as desiring too little.
  8. Donate, but first, be wealthy
    My dear, remember when that beggar asked for spare coin, I told you to wait, talked to him instead, and gave him food? It's no use to try to help poor people if you are one yourself; it's a never-ending cicle which will help no one. It could even harm you. You help someone not by sharing the little you have, but by helping them getting out from where they are. You lend them a hand. I talked to the beggar, gave him my card, and told him to call me when he was ready for a job. He hasn't called once.
  9. Don't trust even what I say; instead, prove it
    All these things, my darling, are only lessons I have learnt. I am older than you've ever been. And I'm a bit wise, and survived much horrors and terrifying situations. You must understand these things I tell you are meant to help you. Use them as you would use a pencil: everyday and to write something good. Write a good story. But if you prove some of these wrong, change them. Don't stick to anything fixed.


Perhaps these lessons won't stand the endurance of time, and will soften up. Perhaps they will change. The outcome is not guaranteed, and perhaps teaching these lessons would do no good at stopping my child from becoming a sheep.

I don't know.

What I know is that I will give them every edge I can, and knowledge and wisdom is, at times, one of the best we can offer besides a safe growing environment.

Sort:  

Congratulations @azolot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71