A Truck Hit My House

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20180208_170951.jpg

Not clickbait. What a week I've had! An actual truck with two trailers behind it hit my house full on. It's been white hell this week. Snowstorm after snowstorm. A few people died. Countless car crashes. Snow and ice on all roads. It happened this Thursday at 5 p.m. This is the result:

All day the cars were crashing. Road crews were working non-stop but it wasn't enough to stop the effects of a snow storm. Our house is right next to the road, but the road is straight here. However, there's always the possibility that a car might crash. We didn't expect a truck though. My parents were in the kitchen doing some cooking. I was working on my laptop, can't even remember exactly on what. Then, all of the sudden, I heard the noise of a vehicle skidding. I knew there was going to be a crash, but I stayed calm thinking it will be somewhere nearby, maybe breaking a fence or the front gate. I was wrong.

All of the sudden a truck slammed into the house. Felt like an earthquake. Terrible thump noise and shaking. One room was hit the worst. Fortunately, not the one I was in. The next one. Except one small room, all of the house is fine. There are some small cracks in the walls but it's okay. My mother got very scared and cried hysterically. My father was yelling angrily at the driver. A cop lady was already outside because she was passing by and stopped when it happened. Fortunately, nobody got hurt, including the driver. Everyone was fine. The house is damaged but can be repaired.

IMG_20180208_172644.jpg

What happened was that one of the trailers started sliding and it put the entire truck and trailers assembly into a spin, stopping only when hitting our house. The cops determined that the truck had bad tires, which I have photographed. They had no thread for being supposedly winter tires. Looked more like racing slicks. The driver got a fine and the cops took away the truck's papers. We even made it on national news on TV.

IMG_20180208_173839.jpg

Hopefully, the insurance people don't screw us over and we'll get enough money to fix everything properly. So, that was my week. How was yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75