Is this a late midlife crisis ?

in #life4 years ago (edited)

I have recently got this overwhelming urge to take to the open road and explore VanLife.

I am lucky to live in the most amazing part of the UK, Cornwall and love it, BUT
polkerris.jpg

Since losing my wife 2 years ago I just can't seem to fill the void and with trying to run a house in the UK with high utility costs and taxes on everything you look at, really I am just existing.

I seem to work just to pay bills and If am lucky manage to get out once a week to see a local band and have a beer.

I have always been one of those people that hates clutter, I am not big on possessions I like things simple and minimal.
My late wife was a hoarder of anything and everything so now I seem to be surrounded by so much stuff it's almost suffocating.

Anyhows now at the age of 53 everyone seems to look at you as though you have all these things around you to prove where you are in life.

If I am honest I am drowning in it, all that I am expected to have just seems like a barred cell keeping me trapped.

I feel I am just sat in this prison piling on weight and getting charged extortionate amounts for the pleasure.

In my past life, I have been lucky to camp under the stars, wake up on sandy beaches after partying with friends all night, I like to hunt and fish and explore the great outdoors, but as you get older as they say life gets in the way.

OK now here is the dilemma, I have finally woken up.

Life does not get in the way, what gets in the way is thinking you have to tow the line and follow the norm.

So over this coming year, I am planning to buy a Van convert it to live in, then hit the dusty road, you never know I may even find a lady friend to join me on the adventure. ( volunteers get in touch, LOL ) yeah like that will happen.

van.jpg

I have not been using my steemit account much so I have decided to use it to follow this journey, and see where life takes me.
After all, I have nothing to lose apart from this prison cell I now call home. if any of you have any advice or even know what I am describing in life come say hello.

Mark

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75