Armchair Musings #8 - Why Do We Stay With The Bad (Part 2 of 2)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

“All of this just makes me sick”


I feigned being jolted from near slumber, but it was rather poor acting. Everyone in the room knew my insomnia will keep me up till I’m waking them to turn off their alarms. The AC unit droned quietly, slowly dropping the temperature of the room and everyone in it. Well, everyone except Nneoma. 

Ever since she had seen a post on Instagram with her past boo and Sori, she had flipped out and started stalking them both on Facebook/Instagram/Snapchat/Twitter/Sweet-Jesus-How-Many-More-Of-These-Things-Can-The-World-Take. The sleepover we had planned to take her mind off of recent happenings was an exercise in futility, and now the (hell) cat was out of the bag.

And these traitorous b****es left me holding the bag.

They all slept peacefully under their covers, shielded from the rage filled beast sitting beside me in the dark, her face illuminated solely by her phone’s backlight and the molten lava I was certain boiled just beneath her surface.

Dear God…was I sweating?

“Why?” A single tear rolled down her face (shockingly, it didn’t turn to steam). “Why would he stay with her?”

I gave her my reply immediately. I didn’t need to think, or to muse. I had been thinking about it for quite some time already.

“Well”, I said, “What choice did he have?”

_____________________________________________________________________

That’s just the problem; now he has nothing left but his mistake. 

If you set out to cook a good meal and absolutely ruin it, you’re left eating only the crap accident you made. If you set out trying to do a good thing that eventually goes bad, then you’re forced to deal with the current situation as sh***y as it may be.

All over the internet, there are several, endless mantras proclaiming that you should 

“Make lemonade out of lemons!”

 and 

“make do with what life gives you!” 

Hell, it even became a prayer

You’re like a shopper who accidentally buys the wrong flavor of…I don’t know, juice? But then when you go back to switch it out, the original is gone. Are you gonna throw out the juice you already have? Maybe…if you’re a rich scumbag.

But if you’re an average, working class Joe, then you’re gonna drink that Tree-Bark Flavoured sludge till the cows come home. Even if you throw away the juice (scumbag), it doesn’t get you back YOUR OWN JUICE. Now you just have no juice (serves you right). 


Editor’s Note: Juice in the above example translates to people. Don’t throw people against their will. They tend to find it displeasing. Also, we think you’re a rich scumbag.

So sure, the guy screwed up by cheating on you. And you are extremely well within your rights to leave his punk ass behind in the dirt. But don’t be astounded when he moves on with the shitty juice. Maybe he now likes that flavor. Maybe he’s not at all happy with it, and is just making do. Maybe some voodoo shit has him held up

The only thing that matters, the same thing I should have told my friend in the example above.

“Why the hell do you still give a sh*t?”

____________________________________________________________________


Ola!

To those who've read the first part, I'm sorry it took so long to get to the conclusion. An evil trinity of schoolwork, writer's block and some silly thing called "the need for sleep" held it up. And for those who didn't read the first part, what are you waiting for? It's right here.

See you next time!

Image Courtesy: Pixabay



Sort:  

Why the hell do you still give a shit?!

That's the money line right there. A great many of the problems of the world and the people in it would be solved or even better prevented if people would learn to

LET! SHIT! GO!



but no. People cling to their pain, to the hot coal that turns to a ball of scorpions and acid in their arms; they make a virtue out of their inability to move on. So they can proudly lift their scarred limbs and curse the sky and gnash their teeth at the world for its grievous sins against them, their pain the proof.

Exactly. A lot of people hate failure. So they just choose to stay stagnant.

"Why fail in real life when I can go ahead and fail in my head, away from the prying eyes of society?"

And thus, people keep getting left behind and swimming in a sea of hurt. Thanks for the comment.

Yeah, this particular comment hits me where it hurts; waaaaay too close to home for comfort. My past self was very very guilty of this 😔 my present self is working very hard to do better and never backslide into that kind of useless behaviour.

More power to you man!

Somehow, this comment inspired my latest post. Something about it got the wheels turning, I can't say what. No wonder @ogochukwu is always hyping post engagement, lol.

Cheers!

the past can only withdrew you from what you aspire if you give it a chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65