Powering Down! Why We Are Doing It!

in #life6 years ago

I have had a few people DM me on Discord and ask me why we are powering down right now. The price of Steem and SBD are down, really down right now and they wonder why now. There are some reasons for this and I will tell everyone in this post so I do not have to explain it in a lot of DM messages.

GEDC0018.jpg

First, if you do not know we are homesteaders that are trying to build, as much as possible, debt free. This is because we do not want to have something hang over our heads in the long run. It may take some more time but in the end, I believe it to be the best way to do things.

Second, We are going to be hauling lots of material to the homestead to build with and we are a few miles away from any of the suppliers of the things we will need and the delivery charges for getting it to us by them is a high cost and it does not work for our budget. We are building with AirCrete and each bag of Portland Cement weighs 94 pounds. That is the main thing we will be in need of, If you buy it all at once, in the humidity of the south it will just get hard and we will not be able to use it then.

GEDC0079.jpg

Third, one of the reasons for us starting Steemit was to be able to help fund the building of our homestead and being able to get some of the things we will need. There will come a time when we can just build SP in Steemit and not need to power down as much, right now is not that time, we need to get things done. We need to get a truck to be able to haul building materials to our homestead to build with. That is the reason for the power down right now. We are about 30 to 45 miles from the places that sell the building materials we will need, as I said before, it will be expensive to get materials delivered to us as we need them. Building debt free means we can only get so much at a time and there will be lots of deliveries, not just one big delivery. Believe me, when I say, we are not leaving the platform we are just using it to help us in our endeavor to build our homestead. There will be many other things we will need the truck for and it is a big tool on and for any homestead.

GEDC0010 (2).jpg

Even as Steem and SBD are falling right now it is fine. I will just hold on till the price does go up. It takes a while to power down so I have started now. I hopefully will not have to power all the way down. I will still be posting on our journey as we go along building our homestead. If you want to help please upvote and resteem our posts, if you would like, you can help by sending Steem or SBD to our wallet, if you choose to do so it would be greatly appreciated. As it would help us to not have to power down as much. We thank you for all the encouragement and the support of our blog here on Steemit. Hope everyone as a great day.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Basic need is first so do that first dear

I know just hate to power down. But it will all work out, I hope.

We are all pinching pennies at the moment to try get by, we all need to do what we need to do :) All the best with your homesteading project, I am a tad jealous of what you have going there!

I know that seems to be what we all have to do, pinch pennies. This is something we wanted to do for a while. So now we are doing it, not an easy task but it will be worth it one day I believe.

Paying as one goes is the best way. People who borrowed believing that their steem was worth the quoted price a few months ago are probably in a world of hurt.

The amount of steem i intend to hold in the future will be based on the amount of influence I want my vote to have.

Borrowing against cybercurrency is road to disaster.

I could not borrow anything right now if I wanted too. After coming back from Iraq and losing our house, borrowing money will never happen. Not a fan of borrowing anyway as it puts more stress on you.

You do what you need to do... being debt-free is a dream of many. You are living it and if powering down now is the way, then do it!

Just think of all the projects and posts you'll be working on as you power down and build up your homestead.

That was what I was thinking of and hoping the posts I will make will build up my SP again as we go along.

You gotta do what you gotta do. I also had to power down a couple of times last month. Sometimes it's just a necessity. Keep up the good work and you'll earn all that back in no time.

Thanks for the encouragement! It is a necessity right now. You are so right.

Good thing power down takes a while, so there's plenty of time for the market to shift in a more favorable direction.

Good luck!

You just have to do what you have to do at the time that you have to do it.
You're on your own schedule and only have yourself to answer to, so it's good to see you're following your needs as you see fit.
Well done to you for that!
Good luck with the construction!
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

I'm sure everyone reaches that point where they need to power down. Many came for earning after all. But we stay for the community. :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97