Homestead/Self Sufficient Goals

in #life6 years ago

0C832FB6-EEF9-4E05-BF7B-5713BFF63347.jpeg

GOAL

My goal for the end of this year was to move my family from the two bedroom apartment we’re currently living in located in Northern California to a cabin on 5 acres of land located in northern Washington State. Than later building a yurt. The cost is between $55k-$89k usd not including hiring movers, driving or plane tickets or the yurt($20k usd). Seemed very doable but the closer it gets to the year ending the farther away the goal seems.

I’ve been watching videos on YouTube of families doing similar things but they never truly say how they did it. After living here for so long I strongly feel it’s the best thing for my family. To teach my son hardwork pays off, to teach him the up and downs of being as self sufficient as possible. I don’t expect him to keep it going but I want him to at least have the skills in case he ever needs them.
Seems my goals are being pushed farther to next year. Something always pops up finically.

What I’m wondering is how do other homesteaders do it?
How do they go from living in the city to moving to the country and living off the land?
How is it really living off grid with a family?

Some of the videos I watched most of them had family with land. But I want to hear from one that started with raw land that they bought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66