Story: How I lost 16kgs (35lbs)

in #life6 years ago

Hi steemit community, this is my first post, and I hope you'll like it. I wanted to first share my journey of weight loss for the last year. Looking at the header, if you are in search of a miracle (16 kgs in 2 months or so:) this might not be the best reading for you.

This is a screenshot from my weight history on my iPhone, which I kind of try to update as regularly as I could. The journey started when I (172cm male) have first seen a number starting with a 9 on the weighing machine (90.3 kgs actually) on Apr 23, 2017.  After 10 months I am now 74 kgs.

The Journey

That day, I started my journey with an initial rule: don't rush!..

This is the greatest advice that I can give to starters. Trying to rush and changing everything at once will burn you down very quickly. You start a strict diet, start running miles every day, stop all habits in a single day and next week (if not earlier) you'll turn back to normal.

Here is what I followed:

  • Change one at a time: Let your body stabilize with your first change and then go to the next
  • Start with kitchen: I started with just changing my lunch habits: instead of grabbing sandwiches or wraps everyday, I started taking my food to work. I cooked easy stuff: Oven cooked salmon fillets, meatballs, steaks etc. That took even less of my time than going out and buying my lunch
  • Cut unnecessary sugar: Coke, soda, juices are all packed with a lot of sugar. So switch to water / sparkling water. Very easy and effective.
  • Sleep: Try to get enough sleep, sleep patterns have quite an impact on weight-loss.

Methods & diets: 

I have followed some methods and diets, too. Not very strictly though:

  • I started with a light intermittent fasting and cut all my dinners. If I was starving I used healthy nuts and yogurt, but do not forget that this starving mostly is psychological not physical
  • As mentioned above, I maintained a low-carb / high-fat diet. I followed strict keto from time to time, but not always. For both times I used it, it helped me break my plateau
  • With two kids at home, I didn't have time to exercise at all.

Last words

If you have read up to this point, there is only one thing left to do: start!
Start now, not tomorrow, not on Monday, not on 1st of January. Start now, and know that this can be a long journey. Do not focus on the results and enjoy the journey instead. You might make some wrong decisions on the way, do not stop, keep going!.

If you start the change, you will eventually change!..

Disclaimer: I am not a professional nutritionist and doctor. Your needs might be quite different based on your state of health. It would be the best to consult professionals before you start.

Please let me know in comments how things worked for you or if you need motivation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63