Installing a Wood Stove in my RV - So We Don't Freeze!

in #life6 years ago

I haven't been posting much because I've been busy installing a wood stove in my RV!

It's getting cold in Flagstaff, AZ. Down into the low 30s (fahrenheit) overnight, and the forecast says 20s next week. Normally we would be heading south by now, seeking warmer weather, but I have decided to stay in the Flagstaff / William, AZ area throughout the winter. I have made this decision due to Ink's battle with Valley Fever and also because after years of full-time travel, I've been feeling the need to be more stationary. Flagstaff is great in the Summer, and not terrible in the winter. We've been staying in the National Forest over the summer here, and when they close down the forest roads (I think around December) we are going to head to Williams and stay on a friends land until the forest roads reopen in Flagstaff (I think around March). It should be a bit warmer over in Williams, but the elevation is not much different from Flagstaff, so it will still be getting cold.

Now onto the wood stove...

023_5037-7.jpg

I got this stove used for $75. It goes for about $120 new. It came with two adjustable elbow pipe pieces, which was nice because they go for about $40 each. The door did not fit tight to the box, so a friend of mine helped my cut and weld it back on so it would fit tight. I also installed fire gasket around the door to make sure the seal is tight.

023_5038-8.jpg

I used sheet rock to build a partial wall around and below the stove and then added sheet metal to the sheet rock floor beneath the stove.

With the help of a friend, we decided the window would be the best exit point for the stove pipe. I removed the window and installed metal in it's place.

023_5024-2.jpg

A bracket on the outside of the RV was needed to support the pipe after it came through the wall.

023_5030-6.jpg

023_5028-5.jpg

I have not burned the stove inside yet. I am still waiting on a smoke/carbon monoxide detector and high temp tape to wrap the seams of the pipe. After I have a few test runs I will update and let you know how it goes. I anticipate this stove will put off a lot of heat, so I plan to keep the fire low and open windows to add some cool air and to make sure I have enough oxygen flow.

Please comment and let me know what you think!

Questions? Ask them below...

.
.
.
.
/
/

My dog and I are full time in an old RV - since 2012. Striving for more freedom, more nature, more meaning, and less 'american nightmare'. Please follow along and enjoy the photos. Prints available on my website.

il_fullxfull.1354862442_iesm.jpg

website: http://www.bear8photo.com (accepts steem payments)
etsy: http://www.bear8photo.etsy.com

steemituprecom2.jpg

Sort:  

I love this idea! Quick tip since you're in a small space is to make sure you have a carbon monoxide detector as well. Happy RVing!

Yup. I ordered one online. Still isn't here tho. Keeping windows cracked.

Good to hear! My brother-in-law just had a scary incident while working in a basement with some sort of drill. He felt strange all of a sudden and began to have tunnel vision. He managed to crawl out and had to lay on the lawn for about an hour before he recovered.

You got a 8.30% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bear8photo!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 7.12% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

You got a 6.64% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @bear8photo!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Doesn't that block your awning?

Good eye! It does block it, but I do not use it when it's cold, I only use it when it's hot, for shade. Next summer I will remove the stove and be able to use the awning again.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-10-16-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95