Sorry For My Absence: I Am In Laptop Purgatory

in #life6 years ago

Hi Everyone,
Sorry I haven't been on as much, posting or commenting. There are 2 reasons for this;
  1. I went on a vacation, so was unable to post while on the road and camping.
  2. About two weeks ago this laptop I'm using now, wouldn't open Steemit as it had a problem with the security certificate.

A few days later and it will now open Steemit but all images appear as a small X icon. If writing a post, as I am now, I try uploading a photo (by all 3 ways; drag and drop, select from file or copy and paste) and it tells me 'Upload error; couldn't connect to server'...but I'm writing a post, so I am connected to the server! (insert confused face, scratching head).
I've tried going in to the settings etc, that's how I managed to change the settings to be able to open Steemit once more.
But now I am at a loss as to what to do to get my images uploaded or even viewable, as this has not happened to any other websites, and I have tried all I can think of.

Anyway, I just wanted to explain my absence and why there is not a cool photo on this post (I am unable to upload any of them). Part 2 of My Oregon road trip post is being written, but I need the use of another computer to put all my awesome photos on it ( I have so many from our time on the sand dunes!), so don't worry Part 2 will be coming soon!

Thanks for the continued support everyone!

Sort:  

Make sure your browser is up to date. A lot of websites no longer allow the older TLS 1.0 security protocol, and older browsers don't support the newer TLS protocol... I don't think windows XP will support the newer protocol in Internet Explorer; so you will need to run Chrome,Firefox, or some other browser (I think there are fixes for this, but its probably easier to just install a current browser) if you are on XP.

Thanks for the tip!
Its so odd, worked fine on the Friday then Monday wouldn't even connect!

I'll try all you have listed in hope of seeing some pictures again, I think I miss being able to see anyone's pictures more than being able to post them. Just not the same to read it was a beautiful place but only see X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67