You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: Adding "Value" to the Steem Blockchain - Chapter 1

in #life6 years ago

Bluntly stated, purely from a financial perspective, the ROI (return on investment) on the investment of my time "in here" is "lousy." So far, after ~ two months, the ROI is considerably less than what I make in the "real world" in an hour ... Yes, but "over time" that will change, right? The "compounding effect" and all of that, right?

Will it change? I believe it will if you invest in the right community and become friendly with the right people. I see Steemit as turning more into a social media rather than blogging platform with that regards. Not that I am particular to any one side since I am neither a blogger or social media type of gal.

I respectfully understand we have to unite in a community and grow and be supportive to others. I spent the first 4 months of my time on Steemit taking those very actions and helped to support newbies as they come onboard.

The problem is, when it becomes a question on whether the time invested to post, comment, engage on this platform is "justifiable" in sacrificing that time away from the real world. My baby girl just celebrated her birthday, and there are days I ask myself if the time I spent on here was worth it? I spend more on my daily cup of coffee than my posts earning on here!

I am not on as much anymore because it is challenging to find the time. The reality is, you have to be active and continuously engaging to grow on this platform. Many individuals like myself who are working professionals with a family simply don't have the time.

I hope you come to a realization for yourself because it is different for everyone on here. Thank you for your support on headchange's post. :)

Sort:  

Good morning @beeyou. Thank you for investing your time in this comment to my post. I really appreciate it!

"Many individuals like myself who are working professionals with a family simply don't have the time."

Yes, that is true for me as well. "Simple math" as I say, I know the time I have put in so far is not sustainable.

"The problem is, when it becomes a question on whether the time invested to post, comment, engage on this platform is "justifiable" in sacrificing that time away from the real world. My baby girl just celebrated her birthday, and there are days I ask myself if the time I spent on here was worth it? I spend more on my daily cup of coffee than my posts earning on here!"

"Ditto # 2" ... 😊

Time and ROI (today) aside, what keeps me going, is the "greater good" point I attempted to make here in my post. And trying to get more clearly established in my mind the value (for "tomorrow" ...) that represents.

Never previously "an online guy," it is fascinating to me, for example, the opportunity to communicate with other people from all over the world. Not a hypothetical exercise, either. I already have!

But, to what end? If I get that figured out (we'll each have our own "answer" ...), what then is that "worth?"

Answers a work-in-progress ...

Have a great day @beeyou!

Good evening to you roleerob. :)

I know the time I have put in so far is not sustainable.

Time and ROI (today) aside, what keeps me going, is the "greater good" point I attempted to make here in my post. And trying to get more clearly established in my mind the value (for "tomorrow" ...) that represents.

It seems we both reached the same conclusion. We want to show support to the community, would love to engage and connect with others, but time is the enemy. I too find the opportunity to connect with others globally fascinating, to me, it is the shining star of steemit.

We, along with many others, have answers yet to discover that seem to be works-in-progress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89