Why Haven't You Been Around As Much, Beth?

in #life6 years ago


This is a question that I keep getting in the Discord and on Steemit in general.

I haven't been as active on posting/commenting.

I have all but disappeared from the Discords.

I haven't been doing music covers.

So what the heck have I been doing?

Well, stuff.

My daughter has been struggling at her school both with academics and with bullying. They do not know how to manage their finances and last year they were fundraising for...wait for it...a LIBRARIAN. The nurse was only there 2 days a week, and the music teacher worked both at my daughter's school and ANOTHER K-8 school, making him responsible for teaching music to nearly 3k kids.

Needless to say her arts education wasn't being particularly fulfilled.

On top of that my son is a little too young to start kindergarten, but I want him to be on the up-and-up anyway. Add to that my sick mother who needs a lot of my time and care, and as healthy a version of all of us as possible, and only one thing came to my mind:

I need to homeschool.

So I have spent a good part of the summer arranging a curriculum that I can live with, the kids can live with and that still meets the standards of Common Core. As much as I hate it, when we inevitably put the kids back in public school, they will be way behind if I don't keep them up to date on it.

So between that, taking care of my mom, still running the house and everything in it, meal-planning, working out, starting school (for myself) again soon, and running my non-profit, I haven't had a HUGE amount of time to put into Steemit. I apologize to anyone who may have felt I haven't been giving enough to the community.

I also responded with some vitriol in today's post to the negativity I received when trying to fundraise for my non-profit. I know to many it seemed like an SP/SBD grab, but really it was curiosity more than anything, and whether or not a non-profit could function financially on Steem alone. I didn't get anywhere near my goal, but I still think that a future for non-profits on the blockchain is possible.

I also go into the details of what we do with the non-profit for anyone who was questioning what we do.

Music means so much to me, and providing the community with music is something we love to do.

One day I hope to be able to combine that love with my love of vlogging and Dtube!

I also hope to get some time to work on music stuff soon.

Anyway, thanks for listening to my rambles. Love you all!

xx - Beth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Less life and more Steemit! ;) lol jk
I think I have learned to focus more on life and less on Steemit.

Family first! Always. You cannot provide for with being provided. No blame and take no offense. People see a 8 min vid and think it took 8 min to make, disregarding the research and redoing of takes. Not to mention post-production.
When you are ready to be back, we will all still be here.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am very like your music post . Beacause i like your song very much . You are good women and good steemit friend . You are my inspiration .
Thanks for sharing @bethwheatcraft

You do you boo. We all have stuff going on and life sometimes gets in the way of our passions. You rock Beth!

Great post!!

Congrats!!

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94