You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It Is Time We Close Old Homes and Bring Our Old Buddies Back to Where They Belong

in #life6 years ago

I couldn't agree more with this! I will say that it is not necessarily totally universal though. There are definitely different cultures that respect the elderly much more than western culture. Japan is a great example. There aren't an abundance of care homes in Japan because many families live together and their parents/grandparents live with them. This idea of isolation is a fairly new one. It is extraordinarily prevalent in the United States, where everyone has this driving desire to move as far away from their family as possible. I suppose this started when people began to move West and settle. I think it's sad.

I personally feel responsible for my parents. They are not incapable by any means, but I have turned down many opportunities to leave my home city in order to remain by them, to enjoy their grandkids and to help them when they need assistance. I feel like it's the least I can do for the time they gave up for me at the peak of their lives. I definitely think I am in the minority though!

This was a really nice article! Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74