Three Wishes Challenge

in #life5 years ago

This is in response to the three wishes challenge as issued by @guiltyparties and served by @soyrosa. I said I’d do this thing and here I am.

Box Canyon Portrait.JPG
photo courtesy of the author

Make a post with your three wishes

Mention someone who'd like this sort of thing: @zen-art @birdsinparadise @lizelle @bozz

Use the #three-wishes tag

That’s the rules and the people I’d really like to see answer this challenge.
I lead a good life! I never seem to know how I could add even one more thing, but I seem to find a way to add a little something now and again.

Number1.jpg
Source

I have a personal mission statement. I’ve had it posted on my wall for at least 15 years. It’s faded and battered (on at least it’s 3rd wall) but it reads:
All I want is to ride.
When I want.
Where I want.
How I want.
I realize that sounds selfish as hell, but me and my motorcycle get along pretty well and I’ve had some amazing adventures along the way. I’ve met some of the greatest people ever while riding, and I’ve had great interactions with kids in cars and gas stations.

So here is the wish: I want to ride. When I want, where I want, how I want.

number2.png
Source

Maya Angelou famously said “When we know better, we do better.”

Brene Brown famously said “Be the change you want to see.”

I would wish that people, all people, would realize and practice the fact that we are all just the same deep down inside. One race, one people, one world. I would that people, all people, could focus more on the similarities and less on the differences. We are all of us global neighbors. The person that looks out for your cat when it’s in the street, or that helps you jump your car when you left the dome light on overnight. When you focus on the similarities it becomes much harder to hate and distrust and categorize others as different. They are just others and so much the same as me as to be me. Their stupid cat gets in the street and they leave the dome light on by accident.

The wish: I wish that I and everyone could see themselves in others AND others in themselves.

number3.png
Source

I am responsible for everything that has shaped me and will continue to form me. Sometimes as a victim, often as a volunteer, I am responsible for my life. Excuses are simply my poor attempt to justify or push blame to something that is part of my life. When I take responsibility for those things I start to change them. Some holes are deeper than others and I may not get them filled in this life, but they are my holes and the only one with a shovel and a chance to close them is me.

I wish that all of us would take more responsibility for our lives.

So there you have it. Three wishes. For better or worse.

@soyrosa suggests that this should be a perennial challenge. I think that’s a really great idea. You all can watch and see if I address three more in a year. I’ll bet my wishes will be different. Thanks for riding along!

All Words in this post are mine, for better or worse. All photographs are properly sourced and used

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

I do not see the firs tone as selfish at all, it is one thats important to you and doesnt detract from other commitments and things you want to do

the other two wishes if more people would do these things the world would be a far better place

Those are some very lofty wishes! I like that they are mostly not about you. I was trying to think of what I would wish for this challenge and I am a little ashamed to say mine were much more selfish! Hopefully we all are around to see all three of your wishes fulfilled one day!

Such great wishes, and your second two show a lot about who you are. The first wish shows your respect and appreciation for freedom. I don't think you could choose a better way to live your life, honestly.

All I want is to ride.
When I want.
Where I want.
How I want.

May it be so!

I was going to pretend I did not read this, will make my three wishes one of these days, but they may be too far fetched to ever come true ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I hope all your wishes come true :)

great wishes @bigtom13 but everyone knows the first wish is always "I want an infinity of wishes" duh ;)

These truly are great wishes though and also nothing selfish about your ride wish, we all HAVE to be selfish first, if we dont' make ourselves happy how are we meant to know HOW to make others so?

Congratulations @bigtom13! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 423 (03/09/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97