Work Trip - Wuppertal

in #life6 years ago

Wuppertal - Germany

Yesterday I took a flight from Berlin to Köln/Cologne for a meeting I need to attend in Wuppertal. Wuppertal is a city in the North Rhine-Westphalia area of Germany. It isn't such a popular tourist destination, since it is so close to much larger more popular cities such as Cologne, Dusseldorf and Dortmund. It rains a lot in Wuppertal, and whilst I was taking a walk through the rather small city centre looking for a restaurant, I got caught in a heavy rainstorm, and had no option other than to jump into the nearest restaurant! When I had finished eating, the rain had subsided and I was able to take this photo of the rather impressive town hall building, beautifully illuminated in the late evening:

IMG_5989.JPG

I stayed in the InterCity Hotel in Wuppertal city centre, which is right next to the main railway station. There seems to have been construction work ongoing here since forever, but slowly the investment in the city seems to be producing some tangible results - the station is looking much more modern and there's a good pedestrian area in the city now. My view from the hotel window was not the most beautiful view I've ever experienced, but I was mesmerised by the road markings on the large junction I had a view onto (and the lane discipline of the drivers):

IMG_5988.JPG

The flight between Cologne and Berlin is only a short one and was the perfect length to just watch one episode of 'Stanger Things' I had downloaded to my phone in the Netflix app. Late evening flights in winter don't give you a wonderful scenery view you get during daylight, but sometimes there's a beauty in the patterns of the lights across the landscape:

IMG_5993.JPG

Have you ever been to Wuppertal?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64