TODAY I HEARD A DRAWKNIFE'S CRY FOR HELP!!!!.??steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

IMG_0307.JPG
THIS LITTLE DRAWKNIFE IS 6 1/2 INCHES LONG, YET HAS A VOICE THAT PENETRATED MY HEART

While walking and browsing at the local Flea Market, I happened to come across a very large glass cabinet. Inside of which were many interesting articles all strewn about and piled upon each other. I stood there, my eyes darting too and fro attempting to distinguish each object from those that lay partially hidden under the pile.

Near the back of the case, partially exposed I spotted a small wooden handle attached to a piece of metal. I recognized the shape. It was a small, very old, hand forged draw knife. After a few minutes I continued my browsing.

As I walked in and out of the many isles, looking here and there, my mind kept thinking about that little drawknife. After almost an hour and not finding anything, I decided to leave. I left the building, maybe walked twenty paces, stopped, turned around and went back inside.

I asked the lady at the checkout if she would have someone follow me to the glass case to which I pointed. A few minutes later and $45 I again headed for my vehicle.

IMG_0308.JPG

I will most likely never use this little tool, even though, with just a little sharpening the wood shavings would fly again.
No, instead I will sit and study it's constructions. In my mind I will ask it questions, such as, "who made you, why so small, for what purpose, how many different kinds of wood have you carved, how old are you, and why did you choose me to take you home???"

So now I have another friend to talk to, to ask so many questions.

IMG_0261.JPG

Sort:  

How awesome to be able to hold this that has such a story to tell!

Thank you weetreebonsai, all things have a story to tell, if we will just take the time to listen, not just with our ears but also with our hearts.................billytwohearts

That's a really lovely little drawknife! Those hand forged tools always fascinate me. They seem to have a life of their own, unlike mass produced tools.

Amberyooper, I am sorry to be so late in replying but I have been in northern Ontario to harvest my years supply of Chaga.
Yes, I also have been attracted to objects that are hand crafted. It's as if the person's who makes them leaves a small part of themselves attached to the items. It's almost as if I am gaining not just the item but also a new friend. Thank you for your comment............billytwohearts

Hello my friend, I am glad to see you posting again. It is hard to resist those items we are drawn to. I prefer the old things that have a story to tell. Thanks for a thoughtful post. 🐓🐓

I apologize for the tardiness of this reply to your comment and I thank you for your kind words.
I must agree regarding being drawn to older items and yes they do have their stories to tell.

Sometimes things call to you. There is a reason that the drawknife wanted you to take it home. You just need to listen longer...

Cecicastor, yes their was a reason, now I just have to figure out what the reason is. Thanks kindly for your comment and I am sorry for the late reply...............billytwohearts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71