New year, same me?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5604.JPG

I always love to think that I am going to leave all of my failures, my issues, and my frustrations in the previous year. That the New Year I have just entered will be the one. I honestly don't know what I expect the one to be like, but in the line of revolutionary and life changing seems about right.

Yet every year, around this time (January 4th or 5th), I realize I am the same exact person. The same shit is happening. The heavens did not open up and cure my chronic illnesses. My depression and anxiety did not suddenly disappear. I did not win the lottery. I didn't wake up one morning owning my dream restaurant - I didn't even wake up with a work visa.

Honestly, I am not sure I even wanted any of these things to happen. All I think anyone wants through the great New Year Transition is for things to get just a bit easier. I think that is why, at least for my generation, these past few years (2015-2017) have been so difficult. We have all been realizing that it just doesn't. There is no pause button or snooze button, and especially no stop. No more summer vacation or winter vacation or spring break. Just not as much time to take a breath.

Many New Years Resolutions are about finding that time in your daily life - and I am finally starting to understand that. Because even when I go on vacation now, I am constantly worried and running on my metaphorical hamster wheel, thinking about everything that needs to be done when I get home. Thinking about everything I need to change, the trash that needs to be taken out, did I turn the radiator off?

Because there are so many other, seemingly more important, things to occupy my mind during the New Year, I often forget what I want to change - and maybe that is why I often feel exactly the same. I just forget to change. By the 3rd, the pressure of 'lose weight' or 'get organized' seems to be over, and I get off the hook. I get back to clothes all over my floor, forgetting to do my laundry, and making the extremely adult decision of eating chocolate for dinner. But even more importantly, forgetting I am unhappy. This is how it has always been right?

Yet, just a few days later, I start to feel cheated. Where is the revolutionary 'new me' that the New Year promised?? I guess it is still in there - waiting for me to put the work in, waiting for me to *care enough* about myself. Usually I ignore the work part, feel disappointed, and move on - but I am hoping this year will be different. Even me just doing the introspection is more than I usually do - and if this sounds like you, I hope it will be different for you as well.


How long do your New Year Resolutions usually last? Do you even make resolutions?

Check out my 2017 summary and New Year Resolutions here!

photo of me taken by @madimov, all others taken by me

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I often feel that it makes more sense to have goals that you write down for any year rather than just making mental notes, what we title as 'resolutions'. If we are very articulate about what we want to achieve and write them down, we are far more likely to achieve those goals ... Once people start doing this, it will break the cycle of monotonous repetitive years that only add to their age without any value.

Do read my blog on new year goals too.. Cheers....

https://steemit.com/life/@roji.abraham/it-s-yet-another-new-year-hits-and-misses-for-2017-in-retrospection-and-personal-goal-setting-for-2018

I can definitely agree with that! I just never seem to put them in a place where I will see them. I think making smaller, more tangible goals helps a lot too - which is what I have also done this year. I wish you luck with accomplishing yours!

Use a vision board and pin it up there (mine was always on the wall next to my bath room - so never missed it) ... Cheeers and all the best achieving your year's goals!

go and sleep, you will feel better later.

Sometimes i'm in this weird mood and I will feel sad all the sudden. ( I had a lot of pressure at work sometimes) But then when I change how I think, I get less upset. Instead of thinking "Oh, I'm the same old me... ", why not trying to change the question to: "what can I do to improve myself? How do I make sure I will remember to do the laundry?"Oh, let's say, "I ate a chocolate, what is nice about it? Yum... tasty chocolate..hehe..okay no chocolate for the next 3 days" =)

Cheer up, a soul like yours deserve to be happy =)

I never make New Years Resolutions... I feel that it will not work anyway. I just keep on struggling like the year before lol. A bit like you mention that you discover every year. Well maybe a bit boring answer, but I'm not good at making these resolutions :-)

No I fully understand! I have realized over the past couple years that making smaller, monthly goals is the way to go - which is what I am trying to go this year. If you are interested in making smaller changes, I really recomend listening to the podcast "Beyond the To-do List." Every week he has a different guest on talking about different ways to be productive and ways to change small things about yourself. I have found it pretty helpful for this New Year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75