reminiscing

in #life6 years ago

on ice cream cones

To me, spring is ice cream. Summer is ice cream. Fall is ice cream. Heck, even winter is ice cream. I love ice cream.

Here in Berlin, people love their ice cream, but does it compete with a soft serve from a slightly concerning truck, run by a grumpy old man who may or may not wash his hands regularly? I don't know. Ice cream in Berlin probably tastes better. It definitely tastes like ice cream.. unlike this sprinkle monstrosity which tastes more like - I honestly don't know.

IMG_4487.JPG

But the soft serve is iconic. It is sweaty summers and late night pizza with cream soda. Skin sticking to pool floats and sunglass indentations on burnt noses. Sunscreen in watering eyes and riding bikes in 100F heat for the breeze.

It doesn't need to be from NYC outside of the Museum of Natural Science. Doesn't need to be from Brooklyn. Doesn't need to be from the custard shop that went out of business in my hometown. But once a year, it should be soft serve.

Sort:  

I love soft serve ice cream too, especially in summer. I really like how you composed this photo with the zebra crossing in the background.

Thanks so much!

I love ice cream cones either soft served on the one from ice cream tubs. i also like vanilla flavor. It is yummy and the taste is just so classic! <3

You're right - vanilla is such a classic:) I usually dress it up with a bit of hot fudge as well haha

This makes me miss summer so much. Those colorful sprinkles are especially inviting. We have this new(ish) fancy soft serve place in Portland that has some wacky flavors I've been meaning to try but not when it's rainy and cold (and dark) every day. Sigh.

Oohh! That sounds so lovely! Winter in Berlin sounds pretty similar to winter in Portland (especially that dark part), and I often use ice cream as a way to brighten up the day. So maybe it would be a good treat for a hard winter day? Or be reasonable, like most other people, and wait for spring haha :)

i dont know why, but i dont do really well with vanila ice cream, im more on a chocolate. my favourite is actually yogurt soft serve, i find them light and easy for my tummy to handle

Oooh yogurt soft serve is so great - I love going to the places where you can add topings in like fresh fruit and chocolate bits as well! Still light, but also a bit more interesting:)

sorbet is a nice refreshing alternative too ... =D

hahaha! anytime's a good time for ice cream! :)

#SteemitBloggers

Oh... sweet! I like icecream too! Thanks for putting that up here. :)

That ice-cream honestly looks delicious! I NEED some soft serve.
The metaphors you used encapsulate ice-cream and summer perfectly.

Thanks so much! And right? It is about time for a soft serve!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66