Book I just finished: Me before you from Jojo Moyes

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys :)

let me tell you about this book that really touched me and made me think about some things.

It is Me Before You from Jojo Moyes. The german title is "ein ganzes halbes Jahr" which means a whole half year from 2012.
To be honest, I am not sure if I would have read it when I knew the original title. Actually I would have probably never read it, if I didn't have that one friend, she was like try it, if you don't like it, just put it away. So I almost had it half a year (funny considering the title) until I finally started to read it. I thought it is just one of these all the same love stories.

Ok, it is a love story, but different from all I've known so far. Ok that is not so much since I am not the type of person who likes these stories but long story short: Read that book!
It is hard to stop reading since you want to know how the story goes on!

It is about a 27 year-old girl (Louisa "Lou" Clark) who lives with her parents and her younger sister and the sisters child. She has a boyfriend since 7 years. Everythings fine, but they have money problems and when Lou looses her job she has to take an offer to work for the 30-year-old handicapped after an accident Will Traynor. He used to have a wonderful life, with a beautiful girlfriend, a lot of traveling and a successful business, then 2 years ago he got hit buy a car and now he can't handle his life the way it is now and so he is depressive and unfriendly. She starts working there but she hates the job. She is doing everything to not talk with him. Well, they kind of start to get along somehow anyway. Then Lou finds out he wants to end his life in 6 months so she is trying everything to change his mind. She thinks about places they can visit and things they can do and gets confronted with things like getting stuck in the mud with a wheelchair and how "normal" people behave with handicapped people.

Will starts to make her overthink the way she is living her life and changing her mind to many things she thought she didn't like or never tried. She realizes that she doesn't love her boyfriend and that she can make more out of her life.

Ok, hard to tell about the book without telling to much! I hope I was able to give you an idea of the book and maybe some of you will read it :)
Or did you actually read it? Let me know how did you like it?

I can tell this book made me see how hard life for handicapped people can be. I realized how many places here in my town are not "wheelchair-friendly" and how many people don't even realise it. I didn't before, either. Also with the behaviour of the people around looking at them like feeling sorry for them or not helping with wheelchair trouble. I could not be telling the people I am a Veteran so they will help me..
I could empathize with both, Lou who wants to save Wills life and showing him it's still worth living and Will who knows he will never be able to do the things he loves again and doesn't want to live that life. I can not imagine living this way, of course for me it is sad easily, since I am healthy, which I am really thankful for. But I think I would be like Will.
What is your opinion with this?

Greetings,
@blackbird

Sort:  

There is a movie with that same title too. I don't know which one is based on the other, but it is also very interesting and touching. It is my favourite from all the romance movies I saw last year. The movie is really really emotional. Nice review though @blackfeather.

Yes, the movie is based on the book. I haven't seen it yet so I didn't mention it. But I know that the movie script was also written by Jojo Moyes. I need to watch it :)

Looks interesting ! Nice review my friend !!

Thank you so much! :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @twolittlebirds
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Your writing is incredible, Your book could be amazing. We sould connect and support each other by follow each other. I already upvoted you and following you, please think about that. My apologize if I sent this post to you already.Thanks and greeting from @chanthasam

Congratulations @blackfeather! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blackfeather! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71