Cashel, Cork and Casks.

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20180913_171238.jpg

So it was a nice relaxing week off in Portugal. Even though we had a sick toddler , it was still a nice time and she was really good overall. We see the terrible two's creeping in with a few more tantrums than usual but it was great to spend time with this little human that we made that is building a personality of her own. The food was great and my only let down was the last night but 5/6 ain't bad.

When we got back to Ireland on Saturday, it was straight into Dublin traffic. @deirdyweirdy I don't miss that part of life in Dublin. As soon as we got home the grandparents had dinner for us. They wanted to see the child. I didn't complain as I put ketchup on a homemade burger while nanny cut up her granddaughters chicken nuggets.

The father in law always nabs me for a round of golf so my wife couldn't really say no. We are early birds so we were up at 7am to play a competition. One of my friends put his name on the system to play with us. He is nice but he doesn't stop talking from start to finish and that is hours of constant chatter. I went around in 28 points . Father in law 30 points and my friend 27 points. I didn't play my best but a bad day golfing beats a your best day working so it's all good.

Then it was shower and out for lunch to Feehans in Cashel. Most of you know Cashel as a tourist attraction in Ireland. It is a fairly impressive castle. The food there is nicer though and we went for lunch in a local bar that is getting a name for itself for good pub grub. The town of cashel have an arts festival on so they put a piano in the middle of one of the streets. A couple of American tourists were having a go and my daughter thought this was great and started dancing.

tour_img985062148.jpg

Tomorrow myself and wifey are heading to Cork. Cork is a nice city down the south west of Ireland. It is the second biggest city in the Republic but it's still small in comparison to most cities. There is always a nice atmosphere to Cork as the local's have a great sense of humour and their accent is a strange one. Some people call it the republic of Cork because of how different the people are. Actor Cillian Murphy is from Cork and is a regular around the pubs in Douglas where he is from. My sister lives in Cork and see's him quite a bit.
text05.png
download 2.jpeg
The Cork local newspaper is called the Evening Echo so you regularly hear Cork newspaper sellers shout Echoooooooooo while you are walking around the city. There's a clip below of one of the guys shouting it. Some of the tourists don't know what is happening!
text05.png
celtacoursescorkireland735x277.jpg

text05.png

My wife has a voucher for a craft shop called Vibes and Scribes and she is eager to spend it. There is a lovely little coffee beside it so I am happy to go in and have a cappuccino and maybe write a post. I absolutely love a pub called the Cask close by and I may even nip in for a drink once I convince my wife to drive home. The Cask is class. The last time I went there they gave me a whiskey that had a glass covering with smoke in it. The smoke was oaky and it really added to the taste of the whiskey. I recommend anyone that goes to Cork to try one. Just clear your diary after you walk in there because you never leave sober. There is always some new concoction that has to be sampled.
caskcorke1529321416810.jpg

Mixolist_in_Cork_s_Best_cocktail_bar_Cask_Bar_Cork_Hotel_Isaacs_Cork 1.JPG

So thats tomorrow planned in. So its either coffee or whiskey for me. Not a bad choice. If you see no posts or comments you will know what the story is. Granny is minding the baby so who knows what might happen

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Good times. Enjoy the headache...

Found you on #steemitbloggers

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thanking you ! Underwear securely back on .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Typical Irishman, a toss up between coffee or alcohol. I can guess what is going to happen and the missus is driving.

I suppose that’s why the Irish coffee was invented but in my opinion it’s either one or the other but as you said there’s only gonna be one winner here and that’s myself!

I like Irish coffee and yes one winner.

hahaha sounds like you and the wife will be having a great time! It is always nice when granny babysits lol - Enjoy it...

and yeah, I definitely don't miss the terrible two's... lol

Quite the adventurous life there! We have 3 toddlers at the moment, a three-year-old and twin almost two-year-olds. Traveling is a little tough! Taking the three-year-old son with me to the states on Friday we will see how that goes. Anyways, @blanchy what a lovely post. I enjoy this side of you! Keep it up :) sorry my upvotes are worthless, this post is worth more.

Jesus @balticbadger! 3 kids under 4. 😂😂😂😂😂. I’d say you don’t get a minute!! Fair play to you. On the plus side is they are all close in age and they will be besties! The 7,8,9,10 years will be great. The states will be a long flight . The etrostetch and the iPad made our flight manageable . Hopefully your 3 year old will sleep. No bothers about the upvote badger. I know you’re not a tightwad.

Thank a million. It’s 40 minutes away do not too bad!

cheers, blue life with blue water and blue health zone.... @blanchy u are awesome if u do it with wright passion.... welldone again

What an uplifting comment @abrahem. Thank you

Seem like you are having a great time there!

sir blanchy! hey I recognize that actor. ..doesn't he always play the nasty bad guy with no conscious? in other words the typical Irish lad?
I like that Echo sales boy too blanchy. Hey you could even do that sales job! you'd be fine at that, put your best feature to good use.

love the bar too, I'd try one of those smoking whiskeys! are you sure they didn't fake you out? or can you really taste the smoke? I think this needs to be investigated more thoroughly.

And that castle! oh my gosh, I want one like that. set up my .50 cal sniper rifle in case of any rif raf gettin to close...man..any castles ever for sale over there?

Any rif raf! 😂😂. It’s mostly your fellow Americans looking at the castle ! Yeah he plays Tommy in Peaky Blinders . Great actor. You should watch another film he’s in called “The wind that shakes the barley” . You d like it. It’s like your Wild West stories but in Ireland . It gets into our troubles to gain independence . Worth a watch

Peaky Blinders? never heard of it. but how would one go about finding his other film about Ireland? I've love to see something along those lines.
as far as riff raff I don't care what country they're from! lol. riff raff is riff raff.

Peaky Blinders is about a family in Birmingham England in 1920 . They are hamsters who become Rich from their exploits . That actor is lead . He plays Tommy SHelby. The head of the family. It’s brilliant. The wind that shakes the barley could be found easy enough as it was released in 2006. Il send you on a copy if you want ! 1 Steemit road Texas 😂. If you want dm me on discord and Il send it to you but I’d say you will pick it up easy enough online

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86