Growing the most

in #life6 years ago

You may be wondering, where have I been? In the last two weeks I went silent. I have to tell you, it hasn't been easy. I've been on here giving motivational posts, but then life gave me a situation. I was thrown into an environment I wasn't expecting. We received some of the coldest weather recently on the east coast, the pipes broke in one of my rental units. Water flooded. My uncle died. The pain I felt this week pushed me harder than I've been pushed in a while. The fear I felt made me want to stop. I thought I wouldn't be back. How could I get online and talk about being driven when I was feeling so low. After all the chaos, I stayed in bed, I felt at wits end.

Finally, I had my moment of clarity. I listened to one of my favorites,


He has some great words,

This is happening to me because I'm a bad person
because there is something wrong with me
because I'm destined to fail...

...

this can be misguided information

...

I am finding my meaning. My purpose is to grow and to share with you all.

Comment below if you've experienced something recently which pushed you to grow.

Sort:  

We were done having kids after our last (4th) in 2009. In 2015 we both lost a ton of weight (me, just over 50lbs).

2016 came with a surprise...we were not done. Exciting. Unexpected. But exciting.

Then at 20 weeks we found out something was wrong. Very wrong. At that point, and until 8 weeks later, the doctors were preparing us for what seemed the inevitable: the baby would be born into a hospice situation, and not live long.

At 28 weeks we finally got the firm diagnosis of spina bifida. We were elated when comparing to the previous expectation.

We spent 5.5 weeks in NICU, and she had 3 surgeries during that time. Then came home.

Half our family went halfway across the country in Jan 2017 for treatment. Then came home.

In May, the shunt draining excess fluid from her brain failed. Replacements are generally one- or two-day stays...we were in PICU for 2 weeks because the replacement shunt failed almost immediately, and she developed severe sleep apnea during this time. Then she came home...with more equipment, more concern, more risk.

It's been a difficult year and a half. But despite it all, not only did we grow, we could not imagine our world without her.

26170837_10154960346746962_6621290532361574822_o (1).jpg

Thank you for sharing! She is beautiful :)

Thanks! She's certainly changed our lives...for the better.

Upvoted @steemian-sniper
Sorry for being my target for the day, but you was been picked in this vast sea
DISCLAIMER: I was a robot who was programmed to target my followers, the creator does not share ANY opinions and thoughts explained by the author
Also this article will now be resteemed by your's truly
Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!
To know me better click this link and you will be redirected
Chao !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56