Top 5 Projects I'm Working Right Now

in #life5 years ago (edited)

February was a crazy month, but March is keeping me busy. The crazy thing is this: That last link leads to a blog post that has earned me $2.34 without a @Curie vote. It's been awhile since I've earned that much on a single post. It used to happen all the time.

I'm not complaining. There are seasons in life. Some hot and some cold. I've got a lot going on, and not all of it is business. Nevertheless, I thought I'd drop a line and discuss the top 5 projects I'm juggling right now.

oeofbgaowf.png
Image from Pixabay.

These are not necessarily in order of importance. They're just listed as five very important projects I am currently developing.

  1. Farmpunk Contest - Ides of March. I ended one contest and went right into another. The deadline for this one is March 14, 2019. If you write fiction, this will be the most unique contest you've entered. If you write in the #speculativefiction genre, then it's a must. Get the details here and here. Only 3 more days to enter.

  2. Blockchain Times - Through Taylored Content, I provide clients with premium authority content, content so unique and powerful they can't get it somewhere else. I don't compete on price. I compete on quality. The client that is currently demanding the most of my attention is Blockchain Times, for which I serve as editor.

  3. Steemit/Narrative - From Day One, I've been hot on Steemit. BTW, in just a few days I'll celebrate my first Steemit birthday. But there's another blockchain-based social media site that has caught my attention in the last couple of months. It's called Narrative. There are some things I like about Narrative and some things I don't. In one of my posts on Narrative not too long ago, I said what you should be doing now is suggesting new niches. I'd like to amend that statement. When the Narrative staff changed their reputation scoring algorithm, one of the things they did was make niche suggestions less important for reputation. I found that out recently. Before, my reputation would go up each time I had a niche suggestion approved. However, since this change, that hasn't happened once. I can only conclude that now it is more important to create drafts of personal journal entries that will go live on beta launch (April 2, 2019).

  4. Storytelling RPG - One night, at dinner, I mentioned to my grandsons that I'd been thinking about a new kind of role playing game. They were into Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh, so I introduced them to Magic: The Gathering. Then they got into Dungeons & Dragons, so I introduced them to Savage Worlds. At 16 and 11, they get into these games. So when I mentioned my novel idea, they said it sounded intriguing. The idea was this: A novel where the characters are the players themselves. Throughout the novel, characters are asked to interact with the story by drawing cards against character attributes. The outcome of these events can affect future events in the story. What they didn't expect was that I'd go away and come back that evening with the first chapter and role playing event. My son-in-law came along for the ride. So far, I've taken them through three chapters of the story. Once I have it completed, I'm contemplating its publishing through @gardengnomepubs.

  5. CafePress shop - My granddaughter, 15, sits between the two grandsons in age. Because she is cyber schooled, she usually is in class for only half a day. I asked her one day if she'd like to run her own business. She got excited about that, so I'm helping her develop a CafePress shop using her artistic talents and interest in photography and writing as the springboard for creativity. We'll see if she sticks with it.

Of course, these are not the only irons I have in the fire, but they're the ones I'm presently focused on. From time to time, my priorities change. For how long? That depends. As I've grown older, I've learned the importance of the pivot. And I use it when I need to.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon

Limerents in the Bog


At Amazon

speculative fiction

While you're here, check out the backside 5:

review me
Review Me, Please

speculative fiction writers of steemit
Created by @EdibleCthulhu


PHC-Footer-05.gif


promo mentors

helpienaut

Narrative
Join me on Narrative

Sort:  

@blockurator I cannot wait to hear how your Storytelling RPG goes with the grandkids!

So far, so good. They love it. I need to pick up the story at chapter 4 and finish it. But we've been having a good time with it.

Sounds like you have quite a few fun projects going on. Kudos to you!

You mentioned Magic: the Gathering - I love that game but I haven't played in ages. I played way back in the day around the time of Revised, 4th, and Ice Age. That was many many many editions ago. I wish I still had my cards.

My brother kept his and recently uploaded his entire collection into an online database. If I remember correctly, it's worth over $60,000! That's a lot of cards!

#powerhousecreatives

Yeah, I had original cards, from the first edition. Somehow, they ditched during a move. I probably had cards worth thousands that got lost inadvertently, and I didn't realize it until after I moved. It hurt.

Oooh, I wonder where they ended up. Tossed in the trash perhaps? Or scooped up by an eagle-eyed collector? Either way, I hope they are one day rediscovered.

Well, I hired a trash removal service to come and haul away a bunch of stuff I thought was trash. I figure, either they went through it to see if they could find any valuables, in which case, if they did, they made out, or it went straight to the dump.

In my mind, if nowhere else, they were huge MTG fans and celebrated their find for months afterward. :-D

I'm sure that's true. They probably choked themselves over finding that Black Lotus.

@blockurator ALL THE BEST! 🌼

And I must say, the storytelling RPG sounds very very interesting. I would love to read/participate if it is published ((:

Awesome. I'll be sure to let you know when it's ready for public consumption. :-)

I'd say that is quite a lot going on. The game development sounds interesting. My daughters (12 and 13) are just getting interested in D&D, so I'm hoping to interest them in other human-only games as well. Too much video game playing today--often either solo or multiplayer remote.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Yeah, it's a struggle to keep them from going digital and staying there. It has such a strong appeal. But we're a game-playing family. Board games, card games, whatever. When it's game time, everyone wants in. And my wife and I are going to prefer non-digital games.

Those are great ages. Such imaginative little creatures at that age. If interested, I'll let you test the game for me when the time is right. I just revised the first two chapters to make sure the story flows better. Plus, I'm reorganizing the text to put a lot of the game-play mechanics (tables and such) in an appendix so they don't break up the flow of the story but still allow for the interaction by the players. Next is revising chapter 3, then it's completing the rest of the story. I'd like to go beyond my boys and get some feedback from others.

What a most interesting set of projects!

I have heard of CafePress but never used it. Is it working well?

It works okay. We're just getting started so we haven't actually uploaded any products yet. I've got my granddaughter brainstorming what she wants to do. The first product will likely be a T-shirt.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @blockurator! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @blockurator!

You just got a 0.75% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75