Daily Om: What Makes People Tick

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hey there!

Today I did something that I have been wanting to try for the last few weeks. I receive an email each day called "DailyOm" and it's like getting a hug in the mail each day. It provides perspective on all sorts of situations that we as human beings deal with each day.

There's also the fact that many of us are small business owners, entrepreneurs, freelancers, or just want to make some money doing what we love. We interact wth others quite a bit and things don't always go smoothly. Today's Daily Om is about "what makes people tick."

Usually each message is just 3 paragraphs long. What I want to do is read the Daily Om, and express my thoughts about what's being said. It's my hope that you have something to say too.

The idea is that so often in life we disagree with others. It causes stress because we don't often know why they feel the way they do. Part of what we should consider doing is getting to know the other person, seeing where they come from, and how that affects their current perspective. This way, we will be able to set the appropriate expectations and stop ourselves from feeling anxiety or upset over their opinions or decisions.

I hope it is helpful to you. Let me know what you think in the comments below.

  • Love, John

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sympathetic comprehension. I like that notion, John. My wife and I will talk and sometimes we just need to vent and get things off our chest. It’s important sit back, listen intently, and really show others that we care about them and about their situations, good or bad.

-Ken

I have to admit I find one of the toughest things for me to do is to listen to others without quickly trying to think of a way to “fix their problem.” Often that’s not what they need or want at all. It can often be best to just accept where they are at and stand in solidarity with them.

I'm the same way. I am a fixer, and very solutions oriented. Sometimes, I will ask my husband, 'What is the best way I can support you right now? Do you want me to help you solve this? Or do you just want me to listen?'. Very effective for our communication (and frustration levels! LOL).

Amy Honey

Definitely, putting yourself in another person's shoes is the ideal way to deal with a situation where you can't agree. Another thing to take note, is that sometimes we get caught up arguing about things that aren't relevant to our main objective. If you are with somebody, you probably are doing something that you both really want to complete. A lot of arguments arise from something peripheral that only distracts from the main objective.

Ending an argument sometimes simply requires getting the other person back on track. "Okay, that doesn't even have anything to do with what need to get done."

Even if you have to apologize, get it overwith and move on to what you want to get done. Hope that helps, Johnny!! Go, go, go!

I agree man! A lot of times what bogs us down isn't even related to our main objective. Good to see you on here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13