How do you get started as a model? - How I started out as a model

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Dream-scenario

To most common story when you ask a model how they started will be " Oh, I was scouted in the streets and I took of from there". "Scouted" means a modelling agency spotted you on the streets. The scouter will approach you and ask you to become a model for them.
It's like the dream-scenario because with this you're seen as a natural, a professional came to you and asked/begged you to be a model for them. But, it's hardly the truth and what really happens.

This scouting is totally unreliable. You never know where and when they will be scouting.

How it happend with me, how it usually happens.

First of all, I didn't grew up wanting to be a model. One day someone asked me to replace a model for a very small local fashion show, if you can even call this a "fashion show". And because I had nothing to loose and I like pushing myself out of my comfort zone, I said "yes". I was insanely stressed and most definitely out of my comfort zone but I survived, and strangely I really liked doing it. So I did some more of these shows.

The next step:
I enjoyed it more and more and decided to give "real" modelling a try. I did some research and talked to some real models I got to know during the small shows. "How do I become a model?"
Well really easy: first of all, you need some good pictures!

There are two ways to get pictures:

  • The easy way: you pay a photograph. It's fast and professional but it will cost you a few hundred Euro's.
  • The free way: you contact some photography  students in your city and you come to an arrangement. They can use the picture they take of you for their school projects and you get to use the pictures for your modelling portfolio. And this is what I did.

It took me half a day to find some photography students nearby, I contacted them and very fast I had my first photoshoot planned. And let me tell you, after now 5 years of modelling, the pictures I got from this first shoot with the student are until this day some of the best pictures I have:

A picture of the shoot I did with the student. What a talent he is, right!! 

I think this picture proves that you don't need a "professional" photographer or a professional studio to get some good pictures. The pictures were all made in his small appartement with basic/cheap lighting.
I mean this student, Vincent Van den Dries, has so much raw talent and potential, incredible!

Yes ofcourse some student will not have this talent but arrange a few shoots and I guarantee you, you will have some amazing pictures to start with!

The last step: getting your pictures out there

Now you have your pictures it's time for the last step: finding yourself an agency.
Without a modelling agency it is impossible to get jobs and make it as a model.

So really simple: search the agencies who are active in your city or cities nearby and send them a mail where you briefly introduce yourself and  link the pictures. Just like that!
And now .... you wait

If they see something in you they will definitely answer you. If not you can always try some other maybe smaller agencies. And if you don't get into any agency, don't panic you're still beautiful and no, there is nothing wrong with you but maybe modelling is just not the thing for you.


I hope this post clears some thing up and I wish the best of luck to all beginning models out there.
If you have any questions, ask away!


Thanks for reading and until very soon!

Sort:  

#life
Robert Frost : In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: It goes on.

Congratulations @bonaventurehoste! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bonaventurehoste! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very nice looking so sweet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62