Electric (silent) cars are probably going to be my death. #being visually impaired

in #life7 years ago

I threw myself in front of a car the other day… luckily the driver saw me and stopped. I felt terrible (and guilty) because it was completely my fault! With an eye-condition that leaves you with no central vision (therefore missing like a lot..) it is not always easy to get somewhere independently. However, I am Dutch so I MUST ride my bike (haha). But seriously, I do still bike but let me tell you that I am very responsible and careful while doing so. And let’s not forget that the infrastructure in the Netherlands is amazing, so that helps too.   

                            


Biking with 5% vision is doable, if you ask me. Until there were electric cars... People often think that when one sense is missing or limited, the other senses become better. I am not so sure about that. I don’t have superhero ears but I do rely on them more. That is why I am capable of crossing the streets because I can roughly hear how far away they are.   

I guess it is good for the environment and technology that electric cars are becoming something. But I believe it could be my death someday.   

 So the other day, I was going somewhere on my bike but I couldn’t cross the street yet because of the traffic coming from too many corners (I can’t see the flashing lights so I don’t know which way they’re headed. That makes me nervous and I am not taking any risks). So what I normally do is that I bike a few meters further away from where I needed to cross (away from any intersections and therefore all the ways where cars could come form). Then I wait patiently on the sidewalk (so I am not standing in anyone’s way) until I believe it is safe for me to cross the street. A part of being safe is that I don’t see or hear any cars.   

However, it was very sunny during this particular day and I had a lot of trouble seeing anything. Meaning that I had to rely on my ears more. And just as I thought I could cross the street, a black silent car came right at me! I was spooked like hell and immediately yelled sorry, sorry, sorry! Hoping the driver could forgive me since I was the one throwing myself in front of him/her. What I don’t like is not being able to see who is in the car. I still have no idea what the driver’s reaction was and that bothers me a bit. It helps me move on to think that by saying sorry (and I really meant it) the driver might not be mad at me.   

The bottom line is: I do NOT like electric/silent cars! My mom didn’t like my joke about electric cars being my death. Haha, I guess she is right. And yes, for the haters out there. I became even more careful than I already was so don’t tell me that I can’t ride my bike anymore.   

Visually impaired or not. Does this sound familiar to anyone?   

@boosje123    

Sort:  

I am cyclist for whole my life and broke so much bones during that time, most of them with unselfish help of cars ;) There was trucks, vans (worst of all - always in hurry), taxi drivers, family cars, bikers... Everything you can imagine was trying to kill me, but those silent little... those silent electric pieces of ... ehm... are by far most dangerous :)
Maybe we can start petition to put some noise-making-things on them?

Wauw, that sounds fucked. Hopefully you will be okay in the future. Yes, I was thinking that too. They can be electric but let them put little bells on them or something haha.

Or big bells :D

Well, I guess that's the constant change we are all faced with. I can totally understand your situation that electric cars are a big issue for you. But guess what, I think with rapid developments in medical science, maybe that won't be an issue for a long time, as you might soon get a cure for your eyes. 😊

I hope so! Every once in a while I am looking into some research regarding my disease and I must say that there is hope! And if not.. then the 'self-driving car' will be safe for visually impaired people to use haha.

sad to know...but you are brave enough to enjoy the moments of life...with 5% vision if u could ride a bike then u can do anything u wish...:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67240.29
ETH 3510.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18