Adventure time! Indoor Rock Climbing and my fear of heights!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit fam :)

Today I decided to go on a type of spontaneous adventure - I was invited out for some indoor rock climbing with a friend, and I took my sister with me.

I call it a spontaneous adventure, event though I knew I was going to do it for 2 weeks, because I had to trick my mind into just doing it because I am actually really scared of heights - as I found out that one time I went bungy jumping... Lol more on that later.

Anyway, so I tricked my mind into going rock climbing and the place we went to is out in Milnerton, Cape Town called CityRock
IMG_6552.jpeg

My first impression of the place, being a total noob in the space: I was quite surprised to see how big the place was, and quite surprised to find out about the large amount of people that actually partake in this activity and quite on the regular it seems - judging by how many people had their own gear, and not having rented gear like myself, and just their general confidence in the way they climbed - probably my fear of heights talking again :)

IMG_656999.jpeg

There are so many different difficulties in terms of the path you choose to climb on offer, to suit your own fitness and experience level. From simple boulder climbing, which doesn't require any ropes or harnesses 'cause it's not really high at all, and is actually safer to have your harness off because you have a higher chance of hurting yourself by clipping the harness on one of the grips, more than actually falling off... Then you get the large walls in the pictures above and then you get some crazies like this guy here:

IMG_6567111.jpeg

Yes, that guy is upside down! Holding his body up with 3 paws and hooking his rope into the hoops in the wall with his fourth!
Too much for my nerves at this point hahaha

CityRock also offers yoga classes at their gym as well as conventional gymming facilities, if you’re interested.

I would say it’s a pretty well rounded place, giving you one spot to get a full body workout and some relaxation too with some yoga.

I really enjoyed this experience and am considering going a few more times, maybe even getting a full membership.

I think it’s a good way to learn to deal with my fear of heights and maybe even conquer it. The friend that introduced me to this? She is scared of heights too, but after 4 months of 2 sessions a week, she is becoming more confident and is able to block the fear out. I think that’s amazing and I am hopeful of achieving similar results :)

After all, Its good to get out of your comfort zone every now and then, keeps you alive :)

#stayWoke

If you enjoyed this post, Upvote!
If you think somebody else might like it, Resteem!

Posted as part of the #brandonmayAdventures series

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71