Lessons From Nature ~ The Possum

in #life7 years ago (edited)

One thing that the possum is definitely famous for is playing dead in stressful situations. When the possum does this it heartrate breathing and metabolism slows down completely. For me the lesson here is that we too can take a step back from stressful situations and regroup.

Take a Step Back.

Sometimes it is necessary to take a step back from stressful situations, this allows us to see the bigger picture and align our thoughts in order to deal with the situation objectively. Often when faced with a difficult situation we tend to stare blindly into the problem in stead of looking at the bigger picture and seeing the possible solutions.

Another wonderful quality of the possum is its marsupial pouch, this pouch is used to carry its young and this is a great reminder that we should carry our valuables close.

Keep what is important to you close.

And no, I am not talking about material possessions. I am talking about keeping things that is important to you close at heart. Make sure that when you prioritise that you do so in a manner that envelopes things that is important to you in steads of placing emphasis on things that might not matter in time.

imagecredit:

Sort:  

The great thing about curating philosophy is that it can be found in almost everything, like you do in your lessons from nature. The hard thing about curating philosophy is it can be found in almost every tag and many people post in the #philosophy tag claiming to share wisdom when they are really sharing perspective. Stay wise friend.

:D
Well I always seem to screw up the taggs anyway ....
It is fun being me

Labels are all so mundane anyway. Just be.

Oh believe me I try, or shall I say succeed...

Great Post!
This is a good lesson and where better to learn from than Mother Nature. Thanks for sharing & steem on :)

thank you so much. have a great eve!

:D

Wow.. amazing post..

thank you so much

Good lessons.

thank you so much

Love that top picture!

Truth be known, I think I've always been pretty good at "playing possum;" in fact that seems to be my psyche's natural response to stressful situations.

There used to be possums everywhere when I lived in Texas... don't really see them here in the Pacific Northwest.

haha, life works in funny ways.

We dont really have possums where I live...

Playing dead here for me is ringing as a metaphor to meditate on everything!

yes, that also came to my mind

Wise words, family and friends are for me important to have close, and you should always treat them as you want to be treated yourself.

That is true! thank you for commenting

When I get asked a difficult question I play dead like a possum. Doesn't really work though.

hahaha classic

Love your style of writing and waiting for more of your posts! Best of all!

Thank you so much, I really appreciate the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50