Being Sweet and Kind to Ourselves

in #life6 years ago (edited)

0822-Self-appreciation.jpg

I think "self love" might be such a cliche that we skip right over it.

We're so busy in our lives and focused on goals. Even my spiritual practice and my healing is lacking self love and self appreciation. I always just declared that I had high self esteem and left it at that. But self love is a lot more than that, it seems. We need nurturing. This society is a cold one, and I don't think we really understand how cold it is.

Are you ever sweet to yourself? Do you ever talk to yourself in a nurturing kind of way? It's something I've been incorporating into my daily existence this week.

I googled self love practices and it included things like baths and buying ourselves flowers. But I think it's so much more about the tone we speak to ourselves in, acknowledging our brilliance with some recognition and a compliment, just stopping for a few minutes to appreciate our bodies and feel gratitude for them and gratitude for our lives and who we are. I don't think we need to stand in front of a mirror and look into our eyes and say seven reasons we love ourselves. I guess I want to love myself without reasons.

I do love myself. Unconditionally. But I'm a pretty harsh critic. And I push.

Going out of my way for me and to just appreciate myself seems like something that will make me really healthy moving forward.

I'm eager to see how this will change my life. I know it's going to make it so much richer.

Image Source

My work on Steemit is possible because of @kennyskitchen, his project, @tribesteemup, @adamkokesh's support of that project, and @whatamidoing. Thanks to my supporters @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. You can support, evolve, and expand my work empowering Steemians to have massive impact by adding @brightstar to autovote. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

This is very true. I touched on a vaguely similar topic recently. I think some of the issue is that we live in a society that tries to make us feel bad about feeling good and that extends to feeling good about the self too. Everyone tells us that we should be afraid of the future or that we aren't good enough to survive in it and that keeps us slaving away and not being content with who we are and what we have.

It doesn't take much to move past that though. We just have to believe that we are worth our own appreciation and that we deserve to feel well.

It doesn't take much to move past that though.

You're so right! God, it's like just adding a couple little tiny things through my day makes such a big difference that will add up to a lot! It'll be intriguing to watch what happens because of it.

Yes, there are so many book around the topic of self-love, that focus solely on the form of how to show yourself this love. It's not the symbol, but much more the content of your mind/heart that makes the difference. If you buy someone flowers out of guilt or a bad conscience you haven't done it out of love - same if you do it for yourself.
I guess this is because people are so focused on form and not content, that they believe love is in the symbols. ❤️

Hi, I love this post, my friend. Everyday we need to see us with a kind look and not with a rigid look and unfair. Hope you have a beautiful day.

great post :) i also think it's difficult to find a balance between holding yourself to a high standard and not beating yourself up about your failures

Yeah. Tbh we live in a culture that has been abusive toward us and taught us to be abusive to ourselves. We all have to teach ourselves to be healthy.

So true! I have been unkind to myself for too long a time. I guess I learnt that was normal. It isn't.

These days I do the best I can to appreciate and love myself more just the way I am. It works and leads to me being more loving towards others :>)

I think it is the norm.

I agree. It probably still is.

I really like the idea of "being sweet to yourself." It also reminded me of thinking of self-talk as talking to a toddler. How you talk to your "inner toddler" is deeply affective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86