Intuitive Eating

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Blog_Broccoli-750x410.jpg

I used to eat the SAD (Standard American Diet). I had acne and eczema that was growing worse. I ate copious amounts of grains and dairy. That's basically what my diet consisted of. Then I found out that changing my diet could keep eczema at bay. So I got on this really strict diet. And my whole life changed. Wouldn't you know, acne was gone in a snap. A horrific case of eczema that kept me locked up in my house on Benadryl for two weeks was clearing up at the snap of a finger.

I went between relaxing about my diet and getting strict on it again.

I've done vegetarianism, and veganism, the paleo diet, and the autoimmune diet. I've been really, really strict with myself about rice and dairy, etc. I have found that my body just doesn't do well with certain foods. I inundated it with so much dairy and grains over the years that it speaks up if I consume them again. I've learned to listen to my body.

I didn't think I would give up meat. I tried to be vegan a few years ago, and without the grains, I never felt satisfied. I don't think I was getting what I needed. I also think vegans are the most annoying people on the planet. I lost a friendship that I really treasured because I wouldn't engage with her when she demanded I stop eating meat. I think 90% of the reason 9 our of 10 vegans are vegans is so that they can feel better than others and preach at them. So I didn't think I would say this to people. But I stopped eating meat.

However. I will eat meat if my body tells me to.

Now, intuitive eating is something you have to work up to. If you have a candida overgrowth (which most Americans do), your body can't be trusted when it tells you what to eat. If you have an eating disorder - which most Americans do - meaning that food is tied to emotions and neediness and comfort and a whole bunch of crap - then your body can't speak to you clearly. It's not your cells telling you that you need some sugar but your discomfort with being alone, or candida needs its fix.

There's a difference between wanting meat out of comfort and my body telling me there's something it needs from chicken right now.

In order to get to intuitive eating you need to reset the balance. The pendulum needs to swing all the way to the other side. You'll have to go from eating grains to eating no grains until candida is killed off. You pretty much take your diet down to the very basics: meats and green vegetables until your body finds balance again and then you very slowly add them back in. Now you can feel how you're eating. Now you can feel exactly what grains do to you. Maybe you'll feel a cloudiness in your head, or you'll get diarrhea, or maybe you'll feel really great and energized. The point is, you don't know until you take them out and you can hear your body.

At some point we need to get off the strict diets and the obsession with rules and open up to what our bodies want.

Image Source

This post is possible because of @tribesteemup. Here's how you can support my work and the work of other content creators like me by supporting that project. Thanks to my supporters @whatamidoing, @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

Love this... I've always been an intuitive eaten and tried to resist that!! My body knows what it wants and that's not always convenient or helpful if I'm eating with others etc!! But now I'm realizing it's a good thing to be connected in that way... thanks for sharing!

Breaking out of the SAD was a huge challenge for me. Sugar is addictive and calls out when you pass packaged food in the aisle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64