2019 Wrap Up (aka Thank Goodness it's OVER!!!)

in #life4 years ago

Just in case anyone is interested in the summation of my year.

The Good, the Bad & The Ugly.

WRITING (The Good!!!)

I wrote and published a bunch of stuff this year. Mostly under a pen name.

I'm really proud of that accomplishment. I only made a grand total of $1500.00 from all of the writing this year, but I didn't really get started until May and there were some learning bumps along the way, but I DID IT!!! I'm really proud of the fact that I worked through the difficult parts and got this done. I'm really bad at not following through with things and I feel like I really pushed through some serious stuff this year, In SPITE of dealing with so many other stresses in life.

I also started republishing some of my steemit freewrites on my Facebook Page for Storytime Saturday and people are enjoying those again.

BANNER1.jpg

I have a LOT of books underway and planned for this year. My GOAL is to find my favorite genre(s) and actually write and publish some series or at least trilogies. It makes it a LOT easier to make an income when you have more books in the same genre that make people want to read the next one, etc.

2019-sales-800.jpg

This has quite possibly been one of the worst years ever, thanks to my husband's still undiagnosed health problems. I still have moments of absolute dread or fear that something has happened or he's had another episode and he's lying dead somewhere just because he's later than he said he'd be or he doesn't answer his phone or whatever.

HEALTH

We still don't know what's been going on, but it has definitely improved since he left the business with his former (abusive) partners. Once the lawsuit (from them, accusing him of fraud) was settled/withdrawn because they had ZERO proof of anything they were accusing him of and he had literally volumes of proof in the form of written communication with them proving HIS side... things got a little better.

We've been to the doctor a few times, but he doesn't seem to know/understand what's going on, either. The only way to know if he's actually having TIAs/mini-strokes is to get him to the ER when he's actually having an episode. Thus far, that hasn't happened because although they are still happening occasionally, it's always when he's understandably super tired and it's kind of hard to tell what's going on until he's nearly asleep. Plus, he becomes SUEPR belligerent and stubborn and refuses to go. I don't have the ability to physically force him into the truck to go. If they start happening with any regularity again, I will probably have my son stay over for a week or so and he can help me physically get Patrick to the actual hospital.

FINANCES

Money things are finally (slowly) ramping back up so we can pay our bills, even though we're currently still two months behind on our house payment, most everything else is caught up and at least there is income coming in steadily from the various businesses he's doing right now. Mostly still commercial cannabis grows.

The man definitely has some mad skills when it comes to growing weed! You can find him on instagram where he'll be posting more soon. He's getting ready to start the grow rooms in a new HUGE facility here in town that is top of the line. He's going to do amazing things there.

He's also working as a consultant for a couple of people AND starting the very beginning processes of opening up another grow with another partner.

79909542_565633513982924_7923675556825006080_n.jpg

79851884_1012976892397289_7710888609099808768_n.jpg

MENTAL HEALTH

In amongst everything else this year, my depression, my husband's depression and our youngest daughter's depression has been SEVERE this year. Probably worse than it's ever been. We were all on some sort of anti-depressants for at least part of the year. We may have to go back on them again if things don't pick up.

So to sum it up, it's been a horrible year. I'm looking forward to things continuing to get better in the new year. We're definitely on the right track (finally), so hopefully HOPEFULLY 2020 is simply amazing.

Although I'm trying to be a little more consistent about writing on here, you can also find me on facebook & instagram

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @byn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@byn, I'm not sure exactly when you published this because Steemit doesn't provide exact dates for some bizarre reason. I'm sorry I missed it at the time so I could send you some encouragement! I'm trying to take a little time to look up and check in on people I haven't heard from in a while, and you are right at the top of the list!

I sure hope things have started to lift up for you and your family. Take the meds. Why not have that working for you so that you have better coping skills for all the other stuff? Unless the side effects are worse than the actual depression, why wouldn't you?

Your husband's health situation sounds pretty scary. I really hope they figure it out and that you all have a better year! Hugs!!

Thank you. The medication that we were both taken was suspected to be exacerbating my husband's health issues (but as it turns out, that is unlikely since in the last two months it's gotten far worse even after being off of it for a while).

For me, it made my anxiety so bad that I was literally sitting on the couch trying not to have a complete panic attack most of the time. I was not functional.

Unfortunately, we don't have insurance, but we do have a subscription to a Dr's office. BUT we can't get in to see the actual Dr/get a new prescription to try until the end of Feb (we made our appointments in late December).

We really don't have a lot of options. Medical shit is way too expensive and our finances still haven't caught up with ANY of the medical bills from the last year or our regular living expenses. Unfortunately (again) we have to make sure we have a house to live in before we can afford to do much else at this point.

Last month was probably the absolute worst for my husband's health and we're doing everything we can to keep our heads above water, but I'm not going to lie, it was a ROUGH way to start out the year. I guess that means it can only get better from here!!! (PLEASE)

Good to hear from you! I worry. I really do hope things will be on the upswing for you soon. Here’s hoping your husband’s business ventures take off this year and you can all afford the care you need. Certainly, keeping a roof over your heads is top priority!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87