You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fear and the Denial of Birthright

in #life6 years ago

This is so beautiful. I have no idea of my heritage, because my family would never discuss anything related to it. Whenever I asked, I was just told, "You're a mutt" and I'm obviously very very white to the point of being bland.

I can't imagine how much conflict arises with this issue within yourself and with your children, especially as you mentioned, fearing for their safety due to other people's ignorance and bias.

You write and capture the issue so beautifully. I don't feel like I have anything helpful to add, but it was good to read this from your perspective.

Sort:  

I appreciate your readership always. It has been a tough journey. I think you can tell what's the hardest for me because it comes out the most developed. Writing this helped me. Having people connect to it helps even more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89