You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When writer's block is really a breakthrough

in #life6 years ago

I ALWAYS have several google docs open with various stories. I keep many of them going at once and jump around a lot. I've read that a lot of 'famous' authors actually do this, too.

For me sometimes it is just because I'm writing/discovering some hard things and I need to jump into something lighter. Sometimes it's just because I'm in the mood for genre A instead of genre B so I try to go with the flow.

It's important to keep commitments, but I think it's dangerous when writing to commit to finishing one particular project, instead I choose to commit to writing X amount of words per day or for X amount of time per day.

My husband and I are both writing our early love story that happens to coincide with my diagnosis for dissociative identity disorder so that is obviously bringing up a lot of stuff for BOTH of us.

That means that we are having break throughs regularly, both in memories of the past (some things that I STILL don't remember) but also having revelations that for the first time ever aren't sending me into an emotional tailspin! Whoot! Progress!!!

Anyway, great GREAT post that I'm sure a lot of people will benefit from!

Sort:  

@byn, this is wonderful. I love the parallel writing you and your husband are doing, and the fact that you have a coping mechanism for finding release from discovered stress as you write is phenomenal. That coupling of topics sounds like a potentially difficult one, but you are handling it with grace by taking care of yourself. I am so excited!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85