You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Know What I'm Doing So I'll Do It Anyway and Call It Cool

in #life5 years ago

I was actually wondering if you had decided to take the trail bike to the next Level and take a punt at clearing the Grand Canyon. I tried to clear a particular large puddle the other day, sadly all it got me was wet socks for the rest of the day.

You are right of course, while the Steem Blockchain consists of a whole bunch of creators trying to also be curators and leave comments little progress will be made. The million dollar question is, how to get them to sign up and create an account - in fact without a physical view count on posts how do we even know the amount of people viewing any particular post? Right now it is assumed upvotes and comments denote it is being seen, but the actual load count might reveal a very different picture.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I took the dirtbike for one last spin then spent time getting it cleaned up and ready for winter storage. Always a depressing time of year.

I'd love to see a real view counter. The old one was abused, though I made sure not to sit here and hit f5 because I needed the real numbers. I think even I'd be depressed after seeing the results these days. I used to get hundreds of views within the first few hours. It's a lot quieter these days, it seems, but I can't know for sure, because there's no view counter.

Marketing to curators. I'd take the proven approach where the consumer is sold the idea of getting something in return. When I was a kid, we had toys in the cereal box. They sell games now and offer special downloadable content. There's always something thrown into the mix to make the deal appealing to the consumer. Even car dealerships offer "cash back" or employee pricing. The consumer need to feel like they're getting a deal, and especially when it's compared to the competition.

Restricting a view counter to one per IP address would be trivial - although as everyone has a VPN available to switch location by will nowadays then that could still be gamed - but at least a most viewed would give popular looked at content - just an alternative to Trending.

Happy Days! I remember the Ghostbuster gifts in cereals (yes I’m that old) every morning hoping the glow in the dark would pop out when I shook the packet. Then of course the one morning you forgot to check and nearly choked to death on the damn thing - guess that’s why they don’t stick them in there any more - too many legal fees.

Don’t even get me started on games, game passes and skins to buy on a “free” game, plus the constant marketing machine of YouTube gamers telling everyone how great the latest game is...they always miss out the for five minutes then it’s boring.

But yes, for more eyes on posts the masses are going to need more incentive then the poultry curation rewards they will get unless they invest a few thousand dollars. Maybe if there were accounts with masses of Steem Power and nothing to do with it now nobody can buy votes from them - they could utilise it by rewarding COMMENTS of value. I imagine once people worked out they could earn money by writing something relatively intelligible in the comment of a post regarding that post they would do it more often.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'd like to see consumers purchase tokens. Sure, they can play this game without paying, but they won't earn much at all. In a perfect world, seeing many purchase enough for a 1 cent vote leads to higher rewards long term due to token demand. So many show up now and want to get rich quick. I'd like to see folks content with earning, treating those curation rewards like points, then using those points to either cash out or use to purchase other tokens or game perks available on the chain, for instance. One could watch Youtube videos for ten years. They wouldn't even get a tank of gas out of that. Plus consumers are always donating, again and again and again, throwing that money away. Do the math. 10000 people with a vote worth a penny. Watch how far that goes over time. It's a far better deal than donating, plus the consumer earns, or can have their money back at any time. Creating demand is the goal. The money already exists, so this platform needs to tap into that resource.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71